Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   New Builds (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/)
-   -   Purchasing parts for a Gaming Rig - $850 Budget (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/34632-purchasing-parts-gaming-rig-850-budget.html)

wing July 28, 2010 04:14 PM

Purchasing parts for a Gaming Rig - $850 Budget

Hello everyone. After browsing around for a pre-made computer for quite sometime I've come to the conclusion that I'd like to partake in actually building my very own from scratch. (My first time mind you)

I was hoping one of you could assist me in picking out the parts that would suit my needs the best.
- Also since this is my first time ordering parts online, would it be more efficient if I just ordered them all from one place, or just shop around other websites with cheaper prices?

Only website that I know of, and seems most reliable is -- Newegg.com
  • The computer will be mainly used for hardcore gaming and some light media work.
  • My budget is around $850 give or take.
  • I will be ordering parts out of America
  • Just looking for the rig and parts, don't need mouse/keyboard/speakers/monitor. - Ontop of that my resolution is 1280x1024
  • I did a little bit of browsing for similar threads but they were mainly from out of Canada.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This is what I came up with so far, with a total price of 841 after shipping and taxes. Thoughts, improvements?
http://i26.tinypic.com/351gu43.jpg

jcmaz July 28, 2010 05:20 PM

Drop the 5850 unless you really want it and get a GTX 460. It's cheaper ~ $220-250.

Get a Phenom 945 with the saved monies :)

xlilmissmjx July 28, 2010 05:57 PM

+1 on the GTX460 & 945! You will enjoy a sweeter system for sure!