Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2010, 11:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default Upgrade 775 or i5?

1. What YOUR PC will be used for: in priority order; Photo & video editing, animation (Maya), maybe some gaming

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread
~$1100

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.
Canada (BC)

4. IF YOU have a brand preference. Nvidia for video card preferably as those work better with my 3d apps.

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
Depends. Answer at the end.

6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads.
Yes, but they were always i7 builds (more expensive)

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
Slight overclocking.

8. WHEN do you plan to build it?
1-2 months

9. What resolution do you use? 1280x1024 but looking at new LCD.

So my current PC of ~3.5 years is an Intel E6600 C2D LGA775 Conroe 2.4GHZ cpu mounted on a Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 with 2GB of DDR2-800 dual channel RAM. Video card is an EVGA 7950GT KO. Case is a Antec Solo Quiet Mini Tower with a Fortron 500W PS.

Is it even worth it to upgrade any of my components via the 775 route (RAM+SSD) or is finally time to step into an i5 build?

I would definitely look to upgrade to Win7 64bit as well.

Let me know if you need any other details and thank you in advance for your help.

Last edited by DinanS; July 8, 2010 at 11:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2010, 01:18 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

not sure,probably not, that 965 will take a newer quad. they can be had for cheap, 100 bucks

add 2 more gigs of ram. nv card. gtx 4 series maybe, not sure what power you need.

if you go the new route, highly sugest an amd platform with a hexa core cpu(1055t). you can still reuse your ddr2 if you want.

youll need new drives. faster oens to be precise. and a better psu, not sure what you got so list that as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2010, 02:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

If you're doing animation and photo, go for at least a 23 inch. they go for about 200-300 in the 1920x1080 range and about 300 for an LED of the same size.

I built myself a I5 setup and with a LED the monitor, i arrive at about 1200$ with everything including the case (+5% taxes).

Here an example replace the video card by any Nvidia you want ;), I've reused my HDD and my DVD ROM from the previous computer.

-Intel Core I5 750 Quad Core Processor Lynnfield LGA1156 2.66GHZ 8MB Cache Retail Box
-Scythe Shuriken 3 Heatpipe Low Profile CPU Heatsink LGA1366 1156 775 AM2+ AM3 939 940 W/100MM Fan
-Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64BIT Dvd Oem
-Acer S231HL 23IN Widescreen LCD Monitor Black 1920X1080 LED Backlit 12000000:1 5ms VGA DVI-D HDMI
-Kingston SSDNow V Series Gen II 64GB 2.5IN SATA2 Solid State Disk Flash Drive
-XFX Radeon HD 5550 550MHZ 1GB 1.0GHZ DDR2 HDMI DVI VGA PCI-E Video Card
-Antec Earthwatts Green 430W Power Supply ATX12V V2.0 Active PFC 80PLUS Bronze 80MM Fan
-G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL Ripjaws PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Core i5 1.5V Memory Kit
-Gigabyte H57M-USB3 mATX LGA1156 H57 DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI Video Sound GBLAN USB3.0 HDMI Motherboard

Last edited by Ryoohki; July 8, 2010 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2010, 11:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 98
Default

Personally I'd stick with your current 775 platform and build on top of that. For multi-threaded apps your Q6600 is not a slouch, and if you upgrade just a few other components you should notice a good performance increase without spending too much.
You can easily upgrade your graphics card to anything recent and still possibly use that in your next build. You wanted nVidia.. so as Ryoohki said choose anyone you want :) Probably don't want to go lower than a GTS 250 though.
You can also get an SSD, easily use that in your next comp as well.
Consider upgrading your cooler in order to overclock and squeeze some more performance out of your quad-core.
The only downside to upgrading that I can see is with your RAM. You definitely need at least another 2GB, and you'd need to get DDR2. The problem is that memory is currently expensive and you will be stuck with DDR2 RAM in the future. 2GB online now for about $70 or you can of course buy from someone in the forums :)
And as stated get a new monitor, especially for your applications. I actually picked up a 24" Sceptre for about $350. It has good colours and my fave part is that it runs 1920x1200 instead of 1920x1080 so you get a few more pixels out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2010, 11:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Deathsupport: Unfortunately, it's an E6600 not the quad core Q6600, otherwise I would definitely still continue using the CPU. Also, my mobo doesn't support the 1333 Quad Core Q-series.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 12:11 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yup, too bad. if you had a 9500 you would not go i5/7 unless you needed massive improvement while clocking mile high thine i7.

before you say quits, which revision is the board?? :)


GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 3.3) - GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - CPU Support List


GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 2.0) - GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - CPU Support List


GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 1.3) - GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - CPU Support List

2.0 and above youre good.


3.3






look around the socket area. 1.3 doesnt have much. it may even burn with the quad.lol.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 09:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DinanS View Post
Deathsupport: Unfortunately, it's an E6600 not the quad core Q6600, otherwise I would definitely still continue using the CPU. Also, my mobo doesn't support the 1333 Quad Core Q-series.
Oh, my bad! I was actually in your situation a while back... had an e6400 and aging parts. I wanted to upgrade to i5 but the more research I did the less enticing the upgrade was because if Intel's plans to kill that socket in around a year from now. I ended up selling my parts and just using my laptop, which works for me since I'm in uni and can't afford to spend a lot of time gaming lol.
I am waiting for Intel's Sandybridge CPUs to come out- will keep using my lappy till then. Up to you if you want to upgrade to an i5... keep in mind the socket will become legacy in a while. However I still think upgrading your graphics card and maybe RAM will be 'good enough' if you want to hold out on a full upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2010, 11:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Unfortunately, my board is revision 1.3, so basically no quad core support. Sigh. I might just pick up a Intel SSD, Win7 64 and some RAM to tide me over in the meantime.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 775 motherboard mchutch Buy/Sell & Trade 20 April 19, 2010 11:31 PM
VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first? panzerfan Video Cards 9 April 6, 2010 08:25 PM
Re-mounting 775 backplate Varroa CPU's and Motherboards 1 December 27, 2009 06:28 AM
[WTB] Quad 775 enaberif Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 14, 2009 06:43 PM
[WTB] 775 waterblock voklskier4452 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 12, 2009 08:32 PM