Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 10:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pincourt, Montreal
Posts: 44
Default New build - 900$'ish

Hey,
The build will be used for 3d rendering programs (Max and After Effect's primarily) and some gaming, and some light overclocking. This is what I got (anything missing is covered for.), thoughts?
Total budget is ~900$ w. tax

Edit: updated. and ignore the prices, heh, it's a bad copy paste job from my cart.
Quote:
Sapphire Radeon HD 5850 725MHZ 1GB 4.0GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E Display Port 2XDVI HDMI Video Card
  • Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business days.
Yes $316.94 $316.94 Antec Earthwatts 650W Power Supply ATX12V V2.2 EPS12V Active Pfc 80PLUS 120MM Fan
  • Limit 1 per customer.
  • Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business days.
Yes $77.54 $77.54 Thermaltake V3 Black Edition ATX Mid Tower Case Black 4X5.25 1X3.5 4X3.5INT Front USB Audio No PSU
  • Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business days.
Yes $42.12 $42.12 ASUS M4A89GTD Pro AM3 DDR3 AMD 890GX ATX 2PCI-E16 PCI-E1 PCI-E4 2PCI VGA DVI Motherboard
  • Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business days.
Yes $146.07 $146.07 OCZ OCZ3G1333LV4GK 4GB DDR3 2X2GB DDR3-1333 PC3-10666 CL 9-9-9-20 Dual Channel Memory Kit
  • Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business days.
Yes $101.47 $101.47 AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 6 Core Processor 2.8GHZ Socket AM3 Retail Box
  • Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business days.
Grand Total: 950$ Shipped.

Last edited by Copper94; June 21, 2010 at 08:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 11:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

Here's what G.Skill lists as compatable with the M4A89GTD Pro.
G.SKILL-SEARCH BY MANUFACTURER MODEL NAME

Not a whole lot of kits, though they are all 1.65v. memory. AMD's normally use higher voltage
ram, and the ripjaws you linked are 1.5v., may work, but I'd rather get something I know is
going to work for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 11:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pincourt, Montreal
Posts: 44
Default

Strange, I noticed that too as well, howecer, those exaxt modules are listed on Asus'es Qvl list for the board
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

Edit: ahh, nevermind. I see the voltage differences now, heh.
G.SKILL F3-12800CL8D-4GBRM Ripjaws PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-24 Core i5 Memory Kit - DirectCanada

These then? they are on the list.

Last edited by Copper94; June 21, 2010 at 07:07 AM. Reason: Bad link
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 07:01 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

If you wanna overclock your gonna need a bigger PSU. At least 650-750 watts.
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 07:10 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

The Scythe Katana 3 is outdated. Get the Coolermaster 212+. The Thermal paste that comes with it is supposedly very good.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 07:49 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

as above, and expensive ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 07:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pincourt, Montreal
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keltron 3030 View Post
If you wanna overclock your gonna need a bigger PSU. At least 650-750 watts.
Really? I don't plan on anything serious, just somewhere in the 3Ghz range. The extreme PSU calculator said I needed something around 450-500W. Anyways, it's not the biggest priority for me right now ... As long as it's stable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz
The Scythe Katana 3 is outdated. Get the Coolermaster 212+. The Thermal paste that comes with it is supposedly very good.
Alright.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 07:57 AM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

Well atleast go with a 600 watt PSU. The min for the card is 500. 600 is a safe spot to stay if that's the case.
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 08:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pincourt, Montreal
Posts: 44
Default

Okay, OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W seems to fit the budget nicely then.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 08:07 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

OCZ power supplies are meh at best. Why not get one from Antec, Seasonic, or Corsair.

NCIX.com - Buy Antec Earthwatts 650W Power Supply ATX12V V2.2 EPS12V Active PFC 80PLUS 120MM Fan - EA650 In Canada.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Build (900$ CAD) ZereoX New Builds 10 June 17, 2010 10:17 AM
Gaming Build $900~ dcchow New Builds 4 October 2, 2009 05:07 AM
Future build 900-1200$ CDN Kilauea New Builds 7 May 27, 2009 04:52 PM
Antec 900 | E8400 build ver 2.0 Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 24 October 3, 2008 03:44 PM
Antec 900 | E8400 build Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 43 September 26, 2008 04:55 PM