Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 08:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default $5,000 Video Editing Rig - First Build - Suggestions and Advice

Hello Everyone,

This is my first ever build, I will be editing a lot of footage on Adobe Premiere and After Effects. I will eventually get quadro cards for this system and my main priority is to future proof as much as possible.

Please comment on the build, I will be air cooling for now then moving onto water cooling in the future. Also when I hit the big one I will make a real workstation PC with dual Xeons and make this my gaming PC, but for now this will do.

Title: Super Kickass Air Cooling Machine? What? Air cooling?

Budget: $5,000...No need for monitor, mouse, keyboard, sound card, router.

Case: LIAN LI PC-P80 Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case

Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD9 LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 XL ATX Intel Motherboard

GPU: EVGA 015-P3-1482-AR GeForce GTX 480 (Fermi) SuperClocked 1536MB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI

PSU: SILVERSTONE ST1500 1500W ATX 12V 2.3 & EPS 12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Active PFC Power Supply

CPU: Intel Core i7-980X Extreme Edition Gulftown 3.33GHz LGA 1366 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor Model BX80613I7980X

Heatsink: Lapped Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler

Thermal Paste: IC-7 Diamond

SSD OS/APPS: Crucial RealSSD C300 CTFDDAC128MAG-1G1 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

RAM: 2 Sets of G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)

HDD: 4 HDD's in Raid 5 for Scratch Disk when editing: Samsung Spinpoint F3

Blu-ray:Pioneer Black Blu-ray Disc/DVD/CD Writer SATA Model

DVD Lightscribe: PLEXTOR 24X DVD/CD Writer Black SATA Model PX-880SA LightScribe Support

OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders

Random: Kingston FCR-HS219/1 19-in-1 USB 2.0 Card Reader

Cords: Nippon Labs Premium 6 ft. HDMI to mini HDMI cable with metal hood & gold-plated connectors Model MHDMI-6

Thermal Remover: Arctic Silver ACN-60ML (2-PC-SET) Thermal material Remover & Surface Purifier

SSD Mount: LIAN LI HD-321 Internal 2.5" HDD / SSD Mounting Kit

Accessories: COOLMAX ThumbScrew SILV 10PK Thumb Screw (10 screws in a bag), SILVER Anodized

Fans: Antec SpotCool 0761345-75018-9 Blue LED Case Fan

Accessories 2: LIAN LI PT-CL01 Cable-management Kit

Fan Controller: Scythe KQ01-BK-3.5 "KAZE Q" Fan Controller


Questions:

1. How is the support on the Gigabyte UD9?

2. Does the UD9 NB overheat?

3. I am really worried about the Noctua colliding with the ram or the optional Gigabyte heatsink for the NB....

4. I can't find any info on where I can add more fans to my Lian Li...

5. If I were to find fans, which 120mm and 140mm fans do you suggest?

6. Another Question on RAM:

If I am loading up all 6 dimms with ripjaws, with they be clocked at 1600 Mhz not 2,000 mhz? If this is the case, should I go with 1600 mhz memory with lower cas like:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6820226124

Thanks for your posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 10:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

Noctua shows the NH-D14 as compatable with the board.
Noctua.at - sound-optimised premium components "Designed in Austria"!
Might want to check their ram list too, but as long as the ram doesn't have tall heatspreaders, it shouldn't be a problem. Not sure if it'll fit over Ripjaws.

Ram speed doesn't make a whole lot of difference. I prefer faster ram for overclocking headroom, but don't really need it.
You can most likely use the xmp feature to get the ram to run at what it's rated for. Not something I do, but it can work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 05:37 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

for 5 k? you may want to go dual xeon or opteron. nothing less.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 07:22 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

First question, what does the UD9 do, that you can't do with the UD3? - seriously, the UD3 is a kick ass board.


Second - what dangtx said.

ASUS Z8NA-D6C - NCIX.com - Buy ASUS Z8NA-D6C ATX Dual LGA1366 Intel 5500 DDR3 PCI-E16 2XPCI-E8 PCI SATA Dual GBLAN Motherboard - Z8NA-D6C In Canada.
Xeon X5650 - NCIX.com - Buy Intel Xeon X5650 6 Core Processor 2.66GHZ LGA1366 12MB 6.40GT/SEC Gulftown - BX80614X5650 In Canada.
Get one CPU to start, or two if budget fits. Or get two X5520's and upgrade later.

A few downsides to the board, is that it clocks to 1333Mhz ram (but would have wicked timings), you can only use one graphics card and has the older 5500 chipset.
The great part about that motherboard, is that it fits in a standard ATX case.
There are some great EATX motherboards from Supermicro - I never looked at them for workstation usage.. the X8DTi-F isn't too bad - it has 16x video slot, but all dual xeon boards are limited to 1333Mhz DDR3. The new HAFX case, CM ATCS840 and Corsair 800D would work great with the EATX form factor.

Your PSU is beyond overkill.. a 850W would be more than sufficient for that setup. The Corsair AX series gold 850W would do awesome (and has dual EPS) Unless you're going tri or quad vid card setup.
NCIX.com - Buy Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 CMPSU-850AX 850W ATX Fully Modular 80PLUS Gold Power Supply - CMPSU-850AX A In Canada.

I can't change your mind for you.. but a new dual xeon setup will render [anything] faster than a 980x @4.2Ghz.. even the lower priced 5520s with lower ram speeds.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 07:36 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

some dude built a cheap quad cpu (amd) board on here, look it up. he found the chips on the bay, real cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 09:01 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

why do you need an overclocking mobo?
more expensive doesn't make it better for your application
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 06:55 PM
Deviant's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UWO :D or Toronto
Posts: 355

My System Specs

Default

Btw, if it's CUDA that you need for Premiere, you can use your GTX480 with a slight fix.
Hacking Adobe Premiere CS5 to enable more nVidia CUDA cards | KRAMA i.news - blog.krama.tv

CS5 Cuda Hack How to make Premiere CS5 work with GTX 295 Frank Glencairn

There's quite a few threads on the internet with success with cards dating back to the 8800GT.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 09:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default

If your going drop 5K on an editing rig it is safe to assume you hate waiting to render HD video , look into render nodes ( Basically a cluster of small computers dedicated solely to rendering they dived the work between them making it much quicker ) many small processors > than 1 overpriced mega processor.

After Effects supports this right out of the box look into it. Quadro Cards are great , but these kits (Buy the EVGA P55V SLI Ready Core i3 Barebone Kit at TigerDirect.ca) would be a lot more bang for your buck.

Having a powerful desktop is great but transformers 2 would still be rendering till long after we were all dead if it wasn't for render nodes. There is a certain point where your just spending money with really poor performance increase keep that in mind.

Now , I personally haven't built a node myself yet but it is a project I am going to work on soon (as I get some money)

Pros: Cheap , Scale-able (Can continue to add systems) , redundant , Great Cost VS Performance

Cons: Electricity (Don't wanna blow a fuse) , Complexity , heat ,

Its just something worth looking into I can understand if its not the kind of thing that floats your boat though there is probably a good deal of trial and error involved
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Editing PC Build Help Deemo New Builds 9 April 7, 2010 05:37 AM
Video editing build johndh New Builds 6 December 6, 2009 06:19 AM
$1500 case build, advice/suggestions needed moxmonkey New Builds 23 September 3, 2008 01:13 PM
First Build advice/suggestions, anything plz cuztomized2 New Builds 7 April 24, 2008 11:51 AM
Suggestions on a good 775 mobo for video and audio editing kungfu CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 14, 2008 08:19 AM