Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 07:24 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default Cheap Hackintosh

I'm looking at building a Hackintosh for as cheap as possible. I have some stuff that I can already use, and if it will all work I just need a CPU and mobo. Probably some used LGA775 stuff. It will only be used to mess around with OSX. I will not be using it in any demanding matter whatsoever (well maybe steam for MAC for a laugh).

Budget: Under $300, but the lower the better.

Here's what I have lying around:
250GB Sata HDD
4GB of DDR2 (probably only use 2GB of it though)
IDE DVD burner
BFG 7600GT OC PCI-e
300W ISO Switching Power Supply
A couple of old ATX cases

Should all of that stuff work?
What CPU/mobo combo do you guys suggest?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 11:35 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

how good is that psu?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 12:38 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

E3300 and if you can still find it, a G31M-ES2l. Gigabyte boards are pretty well supported for hackintoshes although I'd double check about this particular model. There should be a few lists with compatible motherboards on other forums
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 01:21 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
how good is that psu?
It's probably horrible, but it was in a system my parents had for a while and it never exploded in that. Don't really care if it explodes either, I'll only play with this thing for a couple of months or so. The less money I spend the better.

Crossfire, I can't find the E3300, but I found an E5300 for $40 locally. Going to call the guy to see if he still has it. The Gigabyte G31M-ES2L is at NCIX for $55, so I can probably get this done for under $100.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 02:51 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I was only really looking around for used processors, but that's not bad. I found a few E3300s used, but people are selling them for like $100.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 03:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Speed View Post
Yeah I was only really looking around for used processors, but that's not bad. I found a few E3300s used, but people are selling them for like $100.

e3300 100$ ?? on which continent are you buying them lol. brand new usually you can pm for under 50 bucks. unless prices have just skyrocketed
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2010, 04:32 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

That's the "Newfoundland tax" effect.

I think I'm just going to get an E5300 and a Gigabyte G31M-ES2L off NCIX for new (price match if I find lower prices).

I might get a cheap small case and a low wattage PSU too, since the rest of the parts I have are at least halfway decent.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 05:50 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Speed View Post
That's the "Newfoundland tax" effect.
LOL @ The fact I know what it is
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 06:25 PM
Pax Pax is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 74
Default

Just make sure you check compatibility for your mobo. I think the insanelymac forums and tonymacx86 forums should have some good info for you. Tonymac keeps a list of "supported" hardware. Just be ready for lots and lots of tinkering/tweaking. I've spent all weekend working on a build running osx, and I still can't get audio/sleep working.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P55/i7-875k Hackintosh/Win7 Dual boot Pax New Builds 2 June 9, 2010 10:14 AM
Nvidia and ATI in same rig (Hackintosh) Grey13 New Builds 12 May 24, 2010 07:53 AM
Completed Project: Power Hackintosh Photograph Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 107 May 21, 2010 08:03 AM
Hackintosh - Finder menu graphical glitch? zoob O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 July 16, 2009 09:10 PM