Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2010, 09:25 PM
mjpd1983's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default Am i bottlenecking my 5870?

Hi guys,

This is my first post here, i have been a big reader of this forum and i appreciate any help i can get. I'm not a PC noob as ive worked in IT for a long while and been a gamer for quite some time. I am just terrible at making my mind up on buying things :)

I'm in the middle of currently upgrading my modest gaming rig components, my current rig isnt the greatest but its not too bad. I'm trying to decide if i should upgrade my CPU from a core 2 duo 3.06ghz (e7600) to an i5 750.

I appologise if this is a topic that has already been discussed at length but i'm terrible at making my mind up as the reviews are all different.

My main goal is to have a well balanced rig that is balanced for both GPU and CPU, my MAJOR concern is bottlenecking my GPU.

My current set up is below, please let me know your opinions on upgrading because im having trouble determining weather or not i am currently bottlenecking my GPU in any way. (i suspect the Mobo and CPU might be)

OS: Windows XP Pro 32bit
RAM: 4gb DDR2
CPU: e7600 (3.06ghz)
GPU: Saphire HD5870
PSU: HX Corsair 750
Mobo: P5QPL-AM (pretty average i know)

If i upgrade to an i5 750 with a P55A-UD3R Mobo would i notice any fps or general performance at all in games such as Crysis, Dirt 2, BFBC2 etc..? or any game for that matter?

Is my current set up limiting my 5870?

All games do run very well but im still just curious, cheers in advance for the advice guys.

-M
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2010, 09:28 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

well one thing is, why are you using a 32bit OS with 4gb of ram?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2010, 09:32 PM
mjpd1983's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Im not sure i understand you?

I know 32 bit can't make use of it all but i have 2 2GB sticks so the only option is to plug them both in?

Or did you mean why am i using such a low amount of RAM?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2010, 10:27 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

i mean 32bit OS's can't utilize 4gb of ram, and 32bit programs can't use more then 2gb of ram IIRC
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2010, 10:34 PM
mjpd1983's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

I see, and yes that's all well and good as i am aware of all this

My post was concerned with CPU + GPU and bottlenecking

Did you have any decent suggestions on my OP or are we just going to compare minor technical knowledge back and forth

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2010, 10:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

dont spend the casho. oc the cpu if you like.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 01:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

If you go with i5, are you aware you will have to switch to ddr3 ram? You might get a small oc out of that board, but nothing spectacular.

Your psu and video card are ok. Maybe a mb/ram/cpu swap is what is needed if you can afford it.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 07:00 AM
mjpd1983's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the suggestions

I think i'm going to get the i5 750/Mobo/RAM upgrade, should go well with the 5870

Cheers guys
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 09:04 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Don't forget to also upgrade your OS....W7 x64 FTW ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2010, 09:31 AM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

You'll of course gain a fps increase going to i5 but the improvement might not be as big as you hope. Overclock your cpu and work from there. A much better ugprade would be to get an ssd
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
5870 , i5 750

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS HD 5870 Matrix 2GB & ASUS HD 5870 "V2" Sneak Peek Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 36 April 14, 2010 04:42 PM
what is bottlenecking my card? lexmark1 Video Cards 12 July 24, 2009 09:39 AM
Signs of bottlenecking? C_O_N Video Cards 16 May 3, 2009 06:59 PM
BottleNecking? Chromey Video Cards 10 April 6, 2009 05:36 PM
What do you suppose is bottlenecking this PC? LookAQuesadilla Troubleshooting 14 April 30, 2007 09:16 AM