Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 16, 2010, 02:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default Low Consumption Folder OR Part time POWER Folder

So I been getting into this whole folding thing with the CC, but I can't afford to run an inefficient/power hungry rig 24/7 or I'll go over the over-usage line which I'm always towing. (already went over this month for the CC)

So I have 2 ideas:

I've been contemplating a GPU upgrade on my main rig for well over 2 years. (ever since I bought the 8600gt in my system specs) I kept putting it off because I don't game much anymore, but I don't game because of the 8600gt. (pointless paradox) So I figure when GPU3 comes out I could grab a Fermi (probably 470/465) and have it fold at night. I'm on the dreaded smart meter, but it's 4.4c/kWh at night, totally affordable at ~200-215W for the GPU which would be ~9c/night ~22c/weekend/holdiay. Heat would be an issue, but I always get aftermarket cooling for my components since I'm such a noise freak, so I should be fine. The rig would only fold from ~9PM-7AM and all day on weekends/holidays. That's only about $25 a year for just the GPU, without significant risk of going over my usage cap.
My main concern for this first idea is completing WUs before the deadline, but I finally get the eye candy I've been wanting for years.

The other option is to build a really energy efficient rig. I'd leave about a $1500 budget for this and I wouldn't need peripherals.
I was thinking of running an i3/h55/itx build off of a Pico PSU. O/Ced to ~3.8-4.0ghz an i3 540 should be able to pull under 120W and not overload the Pico I've been looking at. But with some Epimethius and Google, I found that this would only net about 6k PPD at ~100W. Only slightly better than my current Q6600 and not impressive compared to a GT240.