Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 08:18 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
well, ok. but if you get that cpu with hopes of unlocking, just dont lol.
Oh please enlighten,or should I go 965.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 08:25 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Smile New Builds

I don't know too much about Seasonic psus, so to criticise that would foolish. However, I have only bought 2 brands of psu, Ultra for a friend, lifetime warranty, and Corsair. Before I started my 1st build, most sites I visited and posed the question, Corsair seemed to be the most popular choice by the enthusiasts. That doesn't mean others aren't good, but for dependability, I've never had a single problem with any of my psus. Their warranty and support are top notch as well. So look into price comparisons of the Corsair against your current one. I like the choice of memory. Good luck and enjoy the builds.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 10:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

If you feel that the progs you run need a quad, then get a quad, that way you're guaranteed the you'll get a quad. Getting an x2 with the expectation that it will unlock into a quad, then there's a good chance that you'll be awfully disappointed. Someone who doesn't care, or need, the extra cores, then go for the x2, that way it doesn't matter. And if it does matter to you, then just get the x4 in the first place. It's a lottery, how much do you want to gamble?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 10:12 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you consider the 965..then get the 1055. the way i se it right now is this : top dog on amd needed? 1055. cheapo dual core to oc liek mad? 240/250
enough cores but stil lcheap? 630 @ 99 bucks

and listen to dude above.as well. there are some brands of psus you chose, and thats it. no if,butts or hwatever. theres always the 1/10k or whatever thats going to be a lemon, but its always liek that with electronics
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 10:39 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

As for cpu I will check into more, I thought most of them unlocked.

Psu I thought seasonic was equal to corsair.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2010, 11:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i havent heard too many ppl saying it didnt unlock,but then again unless it was cheaper than that, go straight to quad core.
well,quality is there. some different oem's do their job well, while others poorly. a brand name like seasonic/corsair do have good stuff nonetheless.
we have a dude in here who is better with psus the most, hell probably drop in to make a comment.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2010, 04:47 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

Well looking it over, changed to this true quad for same price

AMD Athlon II X4 635 Quad Core Processor AM3 2.9GHZ 2MB L2 Cache 95W 45NM Retail Box

I will keep the Seasonic psu.

Now MB giga is about $20 more, could use some input on this last choice.


Gigabyte GA-890XA-UD3 AMD790X AM3 ATX DDR3 2PCI-EX 2PCI CrossFireX GBLAN SATA3 USB3.0 Motherboard

ASUS M4A79XTD Evo ATX AM3 790X DDR3 2XPCI-E16 2XPCI-E 2XPCI CrossFireX SATA Audio GBLAN Motherboard

Last edited by Toyoracer; June 8, 2010 at 09:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 06:07 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

I want to buy this weekend. Any suggestions on which motherboard?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 06:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

normally id say giga, but seing the price difference, maybe go asus?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 06:27 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
normally id say giga, but seing the price difference, maybe go asus?
That's what I am leaning to, I don't think I need the S U 3's for this build. Thanks dangtx for all your input. This is turning into a major build I hope to start next week.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build in a long time lastsplash New Builds 3 November 8, 2009 08:12 PM
how long? BT! Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 October 12, 2009 03:27 PM
A long term new build andynerd New Builds 11 May 27, 2009 01:20 PM
New build in a long time!!! Delavan New Builds 7 April 10, 2009 07:09 AM
New Build, psu doesnt provide long enough cables! element291 Troubleshooting 3 January 13, 2009 03:13 PM