Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 12, 2010, 08:08 PM
Restricted Poster

Default New Build....Again!

Here's what I'm planning;

Intel i7 920 2.6GHz
ASUS Rampage II GENE (I know the Extreme II is better, but not worth 150 more imo)
Sapphire Radeon HD5870
6GB OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 1600 MHz Gold XTC (3x2048MB)
CPU cooler in and around 80-100 bucks (Any suggestions??)
Maybe a SSD drive haven't decided.
I was told my Cooler Master 750watter would suffice? True? I did a test on the PSU calculator and it said I would be more than fine.

Any and all suggestions are welcome, I'm new to the new i7 war front and need all the help I can get. ;)My current rig specs are in my sig. Any ideas etc welcome. THANKS!

Last edited by Uberg33k; March 13, 2010 at 07:02 AM.
Old March 12, 2010, 08:15 PM
F@H

My System Specs

The 920 is end of line, and the 930 can be found for the same price.
Your PSU will be fine with that build.
HSF, check the chart at the bottom of this page: Zalman CNPS10X Flex CPU Cooler Review Any of the top 4 should do just fine.
Old March 12, 2010, 11:23 PM
Restricted Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
The 920 is end of line, and the 930 can be found for the same price.
Your PSU will be fine with that build.
HSF, check the chart at the bottom of this page: Zalman CNPS10X Flex CPU Cooler Review Any of the top 4 should do just fine.
Thanks for the reply. The 930 is 30 bucks more than the 920 and only 200MHz faster, wouldn't the former be a better choice? Also I only shop at one PC store here locally

Welcome to Filtech Computer: Your Best Computer Bargain in Toronto.

Could you maybe check the CPU cooler section there and suggest one based on what they carry? Since I only shop there it would make sense. Lastly, I wondering if there's a market for my current parts? I'm planning on selling them off after this build to offset the cost.
Old March 12, 2010, 11:29 PM

Quote: