Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 12, 2010, 04:34 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs

Default New i7 Build

Hey HWC,
This is my first build and I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice on weather this is a good build or not.

Components:
Case: Cooler Master HAF RC 932
MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
CPU: Intel Core i7 930
Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green
Power Supply: Thermaltake LIFE TIME WARRANTY ToughPower QFan 750W
RAM: G.Skill 6GB (3 x 2GB) Tri Channel Memory
GPU: HIS Radeon HD 5850
CD Drive: Lite-On IHAS124 DVD-RW Internal Drive
Keyboard: Razer Lycosa Gaming Keyboard
Mouse: CM Storm Sentinel Advance Mouse
Monitor: LG W2253TQ-PF - LCD display - TFT - 22" - widescreen - 1920 x 1080

Total: $2270.18 (AUD)

What do you guys think? anything need to be changed? Or is it all good?

Thanks in advance,
Jamula66
Old March 12, 2010, 07:40 PM
MVP

Two changes should be made, one is possible;

Swap out the PSU for a Corsair 750TX or (if you really care about modularity and can afford to pay for it) the 750HX.

As for the HDD, go for either a Caviar Black or (if it's on the site) a Spinpoint F3. The F3 is a bit faster, but the Black has a longer warranty, to put the advantages simply.

I've also heard some poor things about the Lycosa, and you might consider instead going with something like a G110.
Old March 12, 2010, 08:22 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs

Thanks for the advice Raserei,

I think I'll stay with the power supply because it is modular and it's cheaper than the HX750

I probably would change the hard drive but my dad is paying for 60% and he wanted 1TB

I too have heard mixed reviews about the Lycosa but I decided that I'd give it a try, I hadn't seen the G110 before and after a quick look I think I will go with it.
Old March 12, 2010, 10:02 PM
MVP