Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 12:30 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default Brand New Build

Hey all, Thinking about building a new computer, just been using my laptop for a while and I believe I need a solid desktop that I can run 24/7.

What I'm thinking is that I will be using it mainly for daily tasks, not a lot of gaming, here and there, not much time to game. The main thing is Virtual Machines. I will be running/experimenting with some images and would ideally like to run atleast a couple at once so I need a system that can handle it without slowing down, I hate waiting :P

I will also be experiementing with overclocking, not sure If i will be watercooling, but definately OC.

Things I need are the usual - Mobo, cpu, ram, psu, gpu, case, hdd's, cooling options??

Budget Approx $1500

If im missing out something just let me know, Cheers

Last edited by homer98; March 1, 2010 at 12:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 01:27 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

Well, atleast two images at once. so lets say ~ 1GB allocated for each image. as for the speed of the RAM isnt a major concern, 1600 is fine. But I will be running some server images as well so im not sure how much load will increase at the moment.

I enjoy playing Company of Heroes a lot, which i know is fairly resource dependant, not sure exactly how much though since it is a slightly older game??
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 03:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

CoH is still a gpu intensive game, though a 4850 should handle it decently (why not get a 5 series? a 5770 perhaps?)

perhaps, slower ram, but more of it? jump to 12 gigs off the bat for VMs, just to give a bit of headroom.

also, scrap the SSD -> unnecessary spending of $300+, can be upgraded later if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 03:47 PM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

mhmm, i think it will be more beneficial for me to have more ram but a bit slower. Can always upgrade later.

With the hdd, what should i start off with then? maybe a raid 0?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 06:12 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

For the love of god, don't get an Antec 900. Terrible case compared to what you can get for the same price. I'd go with a K62 personally, but no. Just no.

RAID 0 is a good option, but I'd make sure it was backed up. It's still not "likely" to fail, but it's more likely than a standard HDD. Regardless of the situation I recommend having at least one backup (be it RAID 1, external disk, etc.)
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 08:04 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mtl
Posts: 106
Default

I used 900 just as a filler since everyone has their taste on case, I personally love my HAF's :D (sorry forgot to type it)

I disagree on scrapping ssd as the difference in I/O and speed is on another level. Especially you are running several VM's. And you hate waiting on general operations. Maybe a cheaper SSD?


4850 is 99dollar ish..... 5770 is like 180 dollar. I put out 4850 due to OP mentioned not too much gaming.... Therefore I put majority of the $ on SSD.

I personally would hold off on 12gb ram, and when you noticed you need them then insert another 6gb.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2010, 08:41 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Fair enough regarding the 900, but I think we're at a point in the lifespan of enclosures that we can just stop recommending it all together.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 08:53 AM
homer98's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 130

My System Specs

Default

So what I get an understanding from you guys is to go with a SSD ( ~60-80 gb? should suffice for starters atleast?)

Also, with the cpu cooler, if im planning on OC'ing, is that a decent one to purchase? or would i get cooler temps/higher clocks with a better air cooler?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2010, 09:45 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

I just put a 60gb SSD in my system a couple of weeks ago. I think that's about the minimum size I'd recommend to anyone. It's sitting at 38gb used right now (all games/data on another HD), and will go up from there unless I disable system restore.

The Hyper 212+ is a good & cheap starting point. There's lots of people on here who'll never need anything more. For a mild to medium OC, it will perform just fine. If you intend to push the ragged edge, you may want a better HSF.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which brand is best for a 9800GT? saltyvinegar Video Cards 17 June 17, 2009 02:55 PM
4870: Which Brand? attonbitusira Video Cards 8 February 24, 2009 02:14 PM
[FS] Razer Deathadder (Brand New) Koslov Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 25, 2009 01:11 PM
[FS] Brand New MX Revolution Mike_E Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 24, 2009 05:24 AM
WTB: Brand Name PSU Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 8, 2008 06:37 AM