Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 26, 2010, 06:50 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

Default i7 build questions

Hey guys,

I'm an Apple guy, building my first PC. Mostly using it for gaming, but I am a photographer and web developer as well so I do a lot of Photoshop work. Anyway, I just received the first of my parts yesterday, and am picking up the rest this weekend from a friend. Here's what I have:
  • Intel i7-860
  • Asus P7P55 LX
  • BFG GeForce GTX 275 OC

Picking up this weekend: Antec P182 case, 850W psu, 2x2GB 1333mhz DDR3 (Unsure of brand as of now). Oh, and whatever decent Optical and Hard drives I can find at FutureShop so I don't have to pay for it for 3 months :)

So I guess I'm not really looking for opinions on the hardware, since it's already purchased. I was worried about the GTX 275, but I put it in my friends E8500 last night and it ran MW2 perfectly. My questions are:
  • Is the stock cooling on this case (3x120mm fans I think) going to be enough? I'll likely be adding at least two additional HDD's... And I want this system to run cool.
  • I am going to upgrade to 8GB ram shortly. Will I notice a different stepping up to 1600mhz ram? Can you mix ram speeds, or does/should it all be the same speed?
  • I've read a little about overclocking this processor, has anyone here done so? I don't need a ton of speed, but if I could safely bump it up a few hundred mhz I would like to.

Sorry if these are dumb questions, but as I said I'm a mac guy and am not used to this kind of scene.

Appreciate the help, cheers.
Colin
Old February 26, 2010, 06:54 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

Seems like I answered my own question about combining RAM when searching the forum, should have done that first. Seems like it is not recommended. Makes sense...

Question about difference in RAM speed stands though.
Old February 26, 2010, 07:01 AM
Rookie

My System Specs