Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 05:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Default Two new builds

Two builds Iím working on. Please critique J. Must order soonest.
The first is an all purpose, and the second is mainly a work/Photoshop/video box. Iíll be using a lot of existing stuff, so Iím just listing the new stuff Iím looking at upgrading.
Cost is not a big concern, but no need to be too extravagant J. I donít game all that much, but I am a big Photoshop user.
#1: - some gaming / quiet is important
MB - Gigabyte X58A-UD7 (will just use air cooling, with some OC)
CPU - i7-920
HS - Noctua NH-U12P SE2 (quiet)
RAM - OCZ Gold 3x2GB 1600 8-8-8-24
GPU - Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X (quiet)
HD - Intel X25-M 80GB (OS/Apps) (wondering about 2 for RAID 0)
HD - Intel X25-M 160GB (games/working space)
HD - WD drives in RAID 6 for media/data (already have)
SC - ASUS Xonar Essence STX (have HD-555 phones) looking for a front panel?

#2: - mostly Photoshop and video, no gaming
MB - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R (stock cooling, no OC)
CPU - i7-920
RAM - OCZ Gold 3x2GB 1600 8-8-8-24 (will prolly x2 in a few months)
GPU - NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512 (already have)
HD - Intel X25-M 80GB (OS/Apps)
HD - Intel X25-M 160GB (Photoshop swap space/working space)
HD - most data stored on a remote server

Sounds good? I think Iíve done my research. Let me know if somethingís wrong

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 05:20 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

you don't need the SSD in raid 0 they perform enough , aside you will not be able to use the trim function or the Intel tool box in raid 0 , if degradation is not important ( I means the life expectency ) you can use the SSD for the photoshop swap files , it will be very fast, but your SSD will live less longer, personnaly I don't care , try to buy better memory than OCZ, they don't have a good quote.

if you want a quiet 5870 buy a regular one and use a cooler like the thermalright look I put some pics here I7-860 Motherboard-CPU-RAM



for your photoshop pc, try to put an ATI card also ..when you use a Nvidia for long time it's more hard on the eyes


.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 05:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the feedback.
Yes, I think I'll forget about the RAID0 with the SSDs...not worth the hassle.
What memory would you recommend? I've used the OCZ gold stuff before and not had a problem, but I'm happy if there is some better stuff. Does it really make much difference?
If I was to go with the Thermalright video cooler, than I may as well go for a 5970 card, right? Something to think about. Any recommendation on that? Like I've said though....quiet is key.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 05:55 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graysccale View Post
If I was to go with the Thermalright video cooler, than I may as well go for a 5970 card, right? Something to think about. Any recommendation on that? Like I've said though....quiet is key.
This cooler will not fit the 5970.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 05:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

The 5970 would not really be cooler, as it requires a lot more cooling..

Furthermore, if you're doing mainly photoshop, you don't really need a SICKLY powerful card, you just want something that works decently..

Presuming the latest version of photoshop makes good use of the video card, it still VERY likely would completely ignore SLI or Crossfire setups (although I really have no clue, this seems logically true to me..)

I would google to this effect and see if there is any difference, but if anything, I would go for a video card with more RAM rather than SLI/CF (for example, the limited edition (I think) Asus 2GB ver.. but I doubt that would be silent)

You really will do better with an aftermarket cooler on everything, with silent fans. Chances are you would even get better temperatures/overclockability...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 06:06 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by undeclared View Post
Furthermore, if you're doing mainly photoshop, you don't really need a SICKLY powerful card, you just want something that works decently...

the 5970 will not be use on the PC with photoshop, if you read back you will see he build 2 pc. he is planing to use is excisting nvidia card with the photoshop pc, the 5970 is for the gaming one
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 05:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Default

I was wondering if this RAM; G.Skill Trident 6GB PC3-16000 CL9 will fit slot one on a Gigabyte-GA-X58A-UD7 board with a Noctura NH-U12P SE2 cooler. If not, can you just file/sand/grind down the fins that are in the way?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 06:22 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 590

My System Specs

Default

If you don't go with the Tridents, I'd recommend OCZ Platinum instead of the gold. It's usually such a minor difference in price and is really good mem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TWO new builds Jim Johnstone New Builds 14 December 6, 2009 06:47 PM
Need help on 2 builds(budget) belinik New Builds 4 September 17, 2009 07:09 PM
2x AMD Gaming Builds TMan New Builds 5 August 31, 2009 03:02 PM
2 builds reviews Kilauea New Builds 10 May 31, 2009 08:49 PM
Builds? CactusJoe New Builds 3 October 28, 2008 03:39 PM