Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:12 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
put the cpu at x20 and the blk at 200 and live ram and voltage at auto. it will give you a 4,0 ghz , but wait , what is your cooler ?
I've got a CM Hyper 212+. CoreTemp gives idle temp. range of low 30s-low 40s. Load temp. range is low 40s to low 50s.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:14 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.mgs4 View Post
I've got a CM Hyper 212+. CoreTemp gives idle temp. range of low 30s-low 40s. Load temp. range is low 40s to low 50s.

Leave you ram at auto too.. I get my 750 at 4,2 at the time it was on a 212+ and the temps was quite good

20x + 200 blk that's it try it like that


Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
I agree, but once he establishes what the auto voltage is, I'd say he should go and manually try to lower it. Only reason to keep the voltage at auto is if he's lazy, and lazy doesn't make for good OCing.

the OP is not lazy, he have few experience with OC, that totaly diffent thing . for now he can't go over blk 160. the main objective is to bring it at 4ghz ( very easy OC for a 750 ) and after we will see, at x20 blk 200 it make 1,31 core volts on Asus auto .. and my CPU run at 67'c with my noctua on OCCT bench . very aceptable for a noob auto setting oc

I prefer see him deal with auto setting than burn something , later with more experience he will play with the manual setting

Last edited by MarkOne; February 21, 2010 at 10:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
the OP is not lazy, he have few experience with OC, that totaly diffent thing . for now he can't go over blk 160. the main objective is to bring it at 4ghz ( very easy OC for a 750 ) and after we will see, at x20 blk 200 it make 1,31 core volts on Asus auto .. and my CPU run at 67'c with my noctua on OCCT bench . very aceptable for a noob auto setting oc

to the OP leave you ram at auto too..
Will do. Did you have to calibrate CoreTemp or did you just download it? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:20 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

you don't need to calibrate to have a general idea, anyway for calibrate something you need a reference point , you will have a core or 2 at different value from the other, but just make an average,
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:37 AM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
I prefer see him deal with auto setting than burn something , later with more experience he will play with the manual setting
I'm talking about lowering the voltage from where the Auto sets it. Once he gets instability from low voltage he goes to the last good setting. There is ZERO chance of frying anything doing that.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
I'm talking about lowering the voltage from where the Auto sets it. Once he gets instability from low voltage he goes to the last good setting. There is ZERO chance of frying anything doing that.
Alright, but which increment should I use? Does 0.1V sounds good?
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:45 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

before lower something he have to achive is desired OC, and is quite far from there.. it's an Asus at 1,31 core volts, they are no problem with the voltage....
do you have experience with Asus Bios and i5-750 cpu ?
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:49 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.mgs4 View Post
Alright, but which increment should I use? Does 0.1V sounds good?
I send you a PM to tell you excatly what to do with this board and CPU, don't want pass the day to argue
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 10:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
I send you a PM to tell you excatly what to do with this board and CPU, don't want pass the day to argue
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 11:14 AM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.mgs4 View Post
Alright, but which increment should I use? Does 0.1V sounds good?
0.1 doesn't sound like a lot, but trust me, there's a BIG difference between 1.3V and 1.4V. If you have the time to experiment I'd say go as low as 0.01V increments, but that's likely to take a very long time. Maybe try 0.05 until its unstable, then increase by 0.01 or 0.02 until it can pass Prime95.

The Auto setting will work fine, it's just that running the CPU at a higher voltage than you need (and any auto setting will run it higher than necessary) makes the CPU run hotter and reduces lifespan. That's why I'd say use the Auto as a guideline, than reduce it until you've got a VERY solid OC.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Suggestions for Folding Rig redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 27 September 3, 2009 01:28 AM
I need three informations/opinions for my new lil matx gaming rig m1dget New Builds 8 July 31, 2009 11:12 AM
New Semi Budget Gaming Rig! Opinions Wanted! Paintrain New Builds 16 July 12, 2008 01:19 AM
Requesting comments or suggestions for my new rig yoda64 Off Topic 10 January 28, 2008 06:55 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 09:59 AM