Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 09:06 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,757

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.mgs4 View Post
Anyone know if NCIX considers DirectCanada.com acceptable?
Most of the time yes, as I believe Direct Canada is owned by the same company NCIX is owned by. Every request I've put in has gone through.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 09:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike.mgs4 View Post
Alright, I've gone ahead and placed the order. The revised/finalized spec is below:

Mobo: ASUS P7P55D Pro - $180
Did you miss the extreme deal on the motherboard? It is on sale for $164.99

NCIX.com - Buy ASUS P7P55D Pro LGA1156 P55 DDR3 3PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 PCI SLI CrossFireX 6SATA GBLAN 1394 Motherboard - P7P55D PRO In Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 10:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtcb View Post
Thanks! I went ahead and modified my order, but it only showed up with the original price. I've gone ahead and created a customer care ticket and notified them.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 10:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Default

May I ask your why you choose ASUS P7P55D Pro? I am undecided on a motherboard for my build. How many GPU are you planning to use? Xfire/SLI? I see this board has three GPU slot. Wouldn't it be a waste of one is only using one GPU?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 10:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtcb View Post
May I ask your why you choose ASUS P7P55D Pro? I am undecided on a motherboard for my build. How many GPU are you planning to use? Xfire/SLI? I see this board has three GPU slot. Wouldn't it be a waste of one is only using one GPU?
To be honest, I chose this particular board because it was the first DDR3-board that came up when I searched Newegg. Other than that, I didn't really pay attention to much else.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 09:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Hi all!

Brought home my new rig from ncix a few days ago. Just wanted to come back here and offer my sincere thanks for all the help I've gotten from people who replied to this thread. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 10:49 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^Enjoy.....now you can start "playng around" with OC'ing ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 08:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^Enjoy.....now you can start "playng around" with OC'ing ;)
Haha already have. However, I've only played with the BCLK frequency by increasing it to 160MHz and setting DRAM Freq. to 1600. Anything past 160 and my computer won't event get to the windows splash screen.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 08:56 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

put the cpu at x20 and the blk at 200 and live ram and voltage at auto. it will give you a 4,0 ghz , but wait , what is your cooler ?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 09:08 AM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

I agree, but once he establishes what the auto voltage is, I'd say he should go and manually try to lower it. Only reason to keep the voltage at auto is if he's lazy, and lazy doesn't make for good OCing.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Suggestions for Folding Rig redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 27 September 3, 2009 12:28 AM
I need three informations/opinions for my new lil matx gaming rig m1dget New Builds 8 July 31, 2009 10:12 AM
New Semi Budget Gaming Rig! Opinions Wanted! Paintrain New Builds 16 July 12, 2008 12:19 AM
Requesting comments or suggestions for my new rig yoda64 Off Topic 10 January 28, 2008 05:55 PM
First OC attempt,any suggestions or opinions? Mibs Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 August 12, 2007 08:59 AM