Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2010, 07:54 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quality components, overclocking, voltage tweak
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2010, 08:00 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

1. Warranty
2. Customer Support

All performance GPU's can be OC'd to some extent.
Voltage Tweaking and BIOS Flashing ( in many cases VOIDS the Warranty).
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2010, 08:18 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

But XFX's ATI cards tend not to OC as high as other brands. This is especially the case with MSI's cards, which have the voltage tweak I mentioned.

As for BIOS flashing to get voltage tweak, if the warranty is the primary reason to go with XFX, why would you risk it by flashing the BIOS and voiding your warranty?
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2010, 09:51 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,060

My System Specs

Default

OKay Thread Cleaned and Back on Topic.

Ras - Okay I do Agree for gaming an SSD won't really create a noticable difference. And for the Record I have this Mod title for a reason. Reliability, Responsibility and dedication to the Forum and its Members. With Great Power, comes great Responsibility.

As for everything else, lets keep it clean. If you have an issue , please report it to one of the staff via A PM and not ruin a thread that is designed to help another member.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 10:02 AM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Ras - Okay I do Agree for gaming an SSD won't really create a noticable difference.
sure it does, i load maps way faster than most people, in cod4 i load a map in 1 second, in bfbc2 i load so quick i'm already parachuted in, on an atv and 1/2 way to the enemy side of the map before anyone else has loaded the map and spawned.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 10:15 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BT! View Post
sure it does, i load maps way faster than most people, in cod4 i load a map in 1 second, in bfbc2 i load so quick i'm already parachuted in, on an atv and 1/2 way to the enemy side of the map before anyone else has loaded the map and spawned.

......


.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 08:20 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BT! View Post
sure it does, i load maps way faster than most people, in cod4 i load a map in 1 second, in bfbc2 i load so quick i'm already parachuted in, on an atv and 1/2 way to the enemy side of the map before anyone else has loaded the map and spawned.
But it won't run the game at any higher frame rates, the point I'm trying to make. Look at it this way; is it worth it to sacrifice FPS for an SSD when you can easily add an SSD 6 months from now?
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2010, 09:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Haha, true. I think I load pretty fast by my standards at least even BF:BC2 Maybe not quite as ninja quick but I can still get to their first bomb point with the tank without much resistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking advice: Easy AM3 cooler CMetaphor Air Cooling 20 January 13, 2010 09:32 PM
seeking advice on new CPU cooler Polygon Air Cooling 5 August 20, 2009 02:58 PM
Seeking advice on part selection Mibs Water Cooling 26 February 8, 2009 01:52 PM
Seeking advice on new build Gellidius New Builds 8 December 13, 2008 11:08 AM
Seeking advice on multiple soundcard build / Will it work? Ironmonk Troubleshooting 3 December 12, 2008 12:46 PM