Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 05:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default what its the point of stress testing?

i just build my q6600 and everyone is talking about prime95 its so stupid, i ran it at my 3.5 oc its a b3 btw. I know i need to up my voltages becuase prime 95 gives the bsod after a minute, but i ran 3d mark 06 and it runs fine so why do i need to stress test im too lazy to up my voltages and what program will use all four cores max at once?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 05:55 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

When you stress test, your checking that the system is 100% fully stable under all conditions. This is important if your going to be running an overclock 24/7. Otherwise it is likely you will experience infrequent BSOD, lockups while in the heat of an online cod4 match when your tied, crashes after working on that assignment for an hour while forgetting to save, etc. Do your self a favor, if your going to OC, follow the advice of the experts and do it right the first time.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 05:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
When you stress test, your checking that the system is 100% fully stable under all conditions. This is important if your going to be running an overclock 24/7. Otherwise it is likely you will experience infrequent BSOD, lockups while in the heat of an online cod4 match when your tied, crashes after working on that assignment for an hour while forgetting to save, etc. Do your self a favor, if your going to OC, follow the advice of the experts and do it right the first time.

il get around to it than, so is not going to screw anything up right if i dont? it just gives bsod which protects the mobo, or what?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 06:13 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

Well frequent bsod could lead to data loss/windows not booting properly, but you should be okay for the short term. If your running raid 0, its even more important to have a stable system, dont want corrupt data screwing the raid up.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 06:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
Well frequent bsod could lead to data loss/windows not booting properly, but you should be okay for the short term. If your running raid 0, its even more important to have a stable system, dont want corrupt data screwing the raid up.
not sure if my motherboard supports raid its the p45 ud3l
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 06:28 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
not sure if my motherboard supports raid its the p45 ud3l
No, your motherboard does not have RAID support.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 06:46 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
....why do i need to stress test im too lazy to up my voltages.....
I actually don't know what to say to this.....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 07:15 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 5105' N 11405' W
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
... why do i need to stress test im too lazy to up my voltages...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I actually don't know what to say to this.....
I do. OP should go buy more cheese puffs and give his/her computer to someone who'll properly take care of it.
__________________
System Spec Peripherals: Corsair H70 cpu cooler (w/ 2 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm fans) | Zalman MFC3 fan controller | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium kb | Steelseries Sensei mouse | Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speakers | SteelSeries SX mouse surface
For the real serious stuff: 2.53GHz Mac Mini | 4GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 320GB HDD | Samsung P2250 (x2) | Apple Magic Mouse | Apple Magic Trackpad | Apple Wireless KB | Drobo FS 6.5TB
Laptops: Dell XPS M1530 | Asus G74SX-DH71
Surface Pro 128GB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 07:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Heh... well aside from the other remarks....

The main reason to stress test any new hardware (OC'd or Not) is to verify that everything is working properly, and that it isn't going to crap out on you 1 day after your 30 day no-questions-asked-return warranty. I stress test every piece of hardware I get.... especially important for finding things like a poor heatsink mount (high core temps), bad/incompatible memory (memtest 386+ craps out), fubarred cooling on your vid card (starts crapping out after 30 minutes+ of vid stressing), etc...... there's a lot more than just your OC that can go wrong.

It's also quite handy to know that everything is working properly on your system so that you can go back to the person who wrote the crap code and tell them they need a patch to fix the "software" problem.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2010, 07:51 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

If you get BSODs when doing important stuff, you will find the time to either roll back your OC or up those voltages. Hopefully you will not waste anyone's time testing video cards, ram, psus, etc. only to realize that your OC was not done correctly.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Working on Stress Testing and Benchmarking Application FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 January 13, 2010 04:39 PM
Point and Shoot Camera miggs78 Off Topic 16 December 16, 2009 06:20 AM
25K Point WU geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 July 28, 2009 11:46 AM
the point of rules gingerbee Off Topic 19 June 22, 2009 01:21 PM
8800gtx - any point to OC? Mr. Cipher Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 January 26, 2008 06:27 PM