Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 06:33 PM
Numfar's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Abbotsford
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default My First Creation (pics)

Hey this is my first time building,modding, and overclocking a system. Is there any bad in it? What would you do different etc. Bought all my parts at ncix payed around $2700.
Specs:

-37" Sharp Aquos
-Gigabyte X58a UD7
-I7 920@3.8Ghz (mx2 thermal paste)
-Corsair H50
-Corsiar HX850W
-6GB G.Skill Trident pc3 16000
-2 XFX radeon 4890s
-2 WD Black 650Gb
-1 WB Black 1Tb
-LG and Samsung DVD writers
-On board sound...cringe...couldn't get my ht omega striker in.
-corsair obsidian 800d case (like it wasn't obvious from the pics;p)
-Aerocool 2000 fan controller (purely aesthetic)
-2000rmp delta fans x3 the rest are yate loon and corsair

I'm not sure how to take screen shots of my desktop to prove my overclock is it fraps?
So far i'm at 3.8ghz @ 1.35v
9-9-9-24 1900mhz @ 1.6v
qpi/vtt @ 1.460v (seems to be voltage hungry..to high?)
heat wise cpu is at 65 @ 100 percent load/north bridge is between 60-70
Passes memtest86 and 8 hours of prime95
3dmark06 score is 24900 and vantage was a few points shy of 20000

I didn't go crazy with the modding but i did a bit of cutting and spray painting. One day I would like to go full water cooling and use that nice north bridge block. Would also like to fold soon can anybody chuck me a good link about how to set that up? Cheers and Thanks
Attached Images
           
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 07:28 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Welcome aboard! An honest man I see, even showed the back side. Nice build.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 07:51 PM
Numfar's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Abbotsford
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default wired

Actually thats a earlier pic as i was building. I have even more wires now and i use some double sided tape to stick the on/off switch for the cold cathodes in the back. I also wanted to show off the back cause i painted the IO panel. I wanted it entirely black outside. On a side note I can fit a 140mm fan on the back, there is so much room but I am not sure how much it would help;p
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2010, 09:10 PM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 691

My System Specs

Default

Very nice setup and a great case.
You can always hit "Prt Scrn" to put a screen shot (full desktop capture) in your clipboard and paste it into an app ("Alt" + "Prt Scrn" for top window capture only) or use one of the many free sceen capture products.
I just noticed that you are running Win7 - Win7 includes the snipping tool screen capture app.
Are you running the 2 x 640 WD's in RAID0? They would perform quite well.
You can get hooked on folding so watch out but it would be great if you joined the team.
Also, HWC has a folding contest on right now so you could win a GTX 260.
Folding info here.
You could even fold some serious bigadv units with your setup btw. The bigadv units require a fast powerful setup. bigadv setup info here.
Hope you join the team, Cheers.
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 03:40 PM
Numfar's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Abbotsford
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the info monster. No I'm not running in raid0 yet but I did ponder it. Right now I'm using the 1TB and the 640Gb to store downloads etc. I use the other 640 strictly for my OS and games. How much performance would i get out of raiding the 2 hd's? Would it speed up loading times much or help with encoding? And the ultimate question is it worth the time and risk?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 03:56 PM
Numfar's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Abbotsford
Posts: 31

My System Specs

Default

How is this?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 04:12 PM
prozac26's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 109

My System Specs

Default

Nice build.

I love the screen. Good stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 04:15 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Looks cool! What is the front panel display?
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 08:16 PM
Polygon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 957

My System Specs

Default

That's one sexy piece of machinery.

PS. YOU WILL NEVER GET THIS. hahah love that pic
__________________
'Do not wish for easier lives, wish to be stronger men'
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 08:28 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Is it a C1 or DO stepping chip..?..if its DO stepping you should be able to lower your vCore considerably.
Welcome aboard!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Budget i5 MOBO/PSU/HDD For Content Creation backpack New Builds 24 December 13, 2009 05:27 PM
Some Pics.. rjbarker Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 21 July 26, 2009 09:45 PM
Adding WTB/WTT and WTS/WTT to the BST thread creation? CMetaphor Suggestions & Feedback 0 March 12, 2009 09:38 AM
web creation software vinister O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 February 16, 2009 10:13 PM
PC music recording and creation thread Robscix Audio 8 August 19, 2008 08:55 AM