Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 03:01 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 509

My System Specs

Default New Work PC and Monitor

Hey Everyone,

One of the guys in my office is looking for a new computer for work. Aiming for PC and monitor, used for websurfing, MS Office, possibly some rendering (but unlikely) with a budget of $1000. I'd build one, but we're working out in the oilfields and we're so busy that I don't have the time to assemble one myself.

Do you have any recommendations of some good PCs and monitors. I'd like to aim for 4GB+ DDR3 ram, 750+GB HD and dedicated graphics, but nothing is set in stone. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Mods: I wasn't sure what forum would be best for this thread. If you need to move it please go ahead, I was unsure between New Builds or CPUs (since it's a little more general). Thanks

Last edited by FreeKnight; January 16, 2010 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 03:57 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

CPU: AthlonII 620
Mobo: Gigabyte 770T UD3P
RAM: Any 4gb kit
Video Card: GT240 or ATI 5670
PSU: Corsair VX550 or Corsair VX400W
HDD: WD 1TB Black???
Case: Antec 200 or 300 + couple of Coolermaster R4 Fans
Monitor: Can't tell ya coz its based on personal preference.

Do you need a OS?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 06:39 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 509

My System Specs

Default

Lol, that's a lot of the parts I'd use if I built it myself, but I'm looking for an out-of-the-box PC. Sorry I thought I had specified that in the original post. If we weren't crazy busy I'd put one together, but it's not gonna happen at the moment. Thanks for the reply though :D
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2010, 07:10 PM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

if you wouldn't mind a mac i would suggest a macbook... exatly your price limit with a very good GPU (9400M by Nvidia).. :-P and supposedly great for rendering.. and its DDR3 RAM with a 250GB HDD .....
Newegg.ca - CyberpowerPC Gamer Infinity 7523 Core 2 Quad Q8400(2.66GHz) 4GB DDR2 500GB NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit - Desktop PCs
with
Newegg.ca - ASUS VW224U Black 22" 2ms(GTG) Widescreen LCD Monitor w/ HDCP Support 300 cd/m2 1000:1 (ASCR 5000:1) Built in Speakers - LCD Monitors

if your willing to stretch the budget i suggest this:
Apple - iMac - The ultimate all-in-one desktop computer.

take a look don't be skeptical.. the PCs aren't any less.. and it fits your specs perfectly... cept for HD space :-)

Last edited by kendallcschm; January 16, 2010 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think it will work kendallcschm Power Supplies 61 November 25, 2009 09:10 PM
can this work? hohohee Off Topic 16 May 27, 2009 05:50 PM
Is this going to work? stingo99 New Builds 0 January 5, 2009 11:04 AM
DVI on monitor will not work! Kassela Troubleshooting 6 December 26, 2008 04:35 PM
will this work Jhayman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 3, 2008 12:59 AM