Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 05:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default Is my PSU good enough?

I have the Ultra LSP 650W
Ultra LSP650 650-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, SLI-Ready, 135mm Fan, Lifetime Warranty at UltraProducts.com

I am running 6 gigs of ram DDR3
I7-920
EVGA GTX 285 1gb


Is this good for my setup? My computer runs and all but am I running it on its limit? Will I be able to overclock?
If not then will I be able to run a 2 way sli with another GTX 285 in the future?

Can sli work with any GTX200 series or has to be with the same?
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 05:43 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

from what i remember, i may be wrong, sli has to be with the same cards, only crossfire can use 2 different types, like 4870 and 4850.

your psu is definitely fine for one 285, but i heard that the in requirements for one is 550 (always over exaggerated, but still), i don't think you could handle 2.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 05:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I can't find much info on that PSU, but since it's Ultra's low-end line, I wouldn't put too much faith in it. And you would need a second GTX285 to run an SLI setup; like BrianHanna pointed out, you cannot mix cards in SLI.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 06:02 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I can't find much info on that PSU, ....


what's happen here. first time I see Zero , not knowing a PSU
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 06:05 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I can't find much info on that PSU, but since it's Ultra's low-end line, I wouldn't put too much faith in it. And you would need a second GTX285 to run an SLI setup; like BrianHanna pointed out, you cannot mix cards in SLI.

This will be a first.

Its not their low end line. That is Ultra LS series.
LSP is their Professional Series, and if you run the UL number you will see its Andyson AD800 Platform I do believe (If I still had my LSP750 I'd know 100%).

Regardless, I wouldn't Run SLI on 285s with that nor any other 650.

Get something like a Silverstone Strider Plus 750/850W and you'd be right in the sweet spot of 60% load and 88% efficency on that platform.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 06:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I would run the UL number, except Tigerdirect didn't think it was necessary to put up a picture of the PSU label, so I have no way of finding the number. In any case, you can't trace a platform using the UL number, and there isn't enough info available about that PSU to figure that out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 06:12 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I would run the UL number, except Tigerdirect didn't think it was necessary to put up a picture of the PSU label, so I have no way of finding the number. In any case, you can't trace a platform using the UL number, and there isn't enough info available about that PSU to figure that out.
Yes and No.

I have had one Opened up. So I know what LSP is based on (again, if memory serves me correct).
The UL # will tell you its Andy. Trust me mate :)

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 06:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I believe you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good psu? NexRedshirt Power Supplies 10 April 7, 2009 10:57 PM
Sparkle PSU's any good? SiDiX007 Water Cooling 4 August 21, 2008 07:42 PM
Is my PSU good enough? SniperClops Troubleshooting 3 October 8, 2007 09:07 PM
DAM Good PSU BALISTX Power Supplies 9 October 4, 2007 12:38 PM
good psu ? Jim Power Supplies 3 August 26, 2007 11:08 PM