Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:01 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 51°05' N 114°05' W
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Default

My Q6600 has been the system of awesomeness for quite some time. But I am in the process of swapping out for Core i5 (until Core i7/i9? get cheaper) due to it showing it's age in newer gaming titles. Besides, the new ASUS boards are things of beauty with all their silver and blue color schemes.

I will be utilizing my Q6600 in a secondary build mainly for email, iTunes, and CAD/3D work where HT is still required.
__________________
System Spec Peripherals: Corsair H70 cpu cooler (w/ 2 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm fans) | Zalman MFC3 fan controller | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium kb | Steelseries Sensei mouse | Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speakers | SteelSeries SX mouse surface
For the real serious stuff: 2.53GHz Mac Mini | 4GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 320GB HDD | Samsung P2250 (x2) | Apple Magic Mouse | Apple Magic Trackpad | Apple Wireless KB | Drobo FS 6.5TB
Laptops: Dell XPS M1530 | Asus G74SX-DH71
Surface Pro 128GB
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:17 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Signal2Noise View Post
I will be utilizing my Q6600 in a secondary build mainly for email, iTunes, and CAD/3D work where HT is still required.
Good to know the q6600 as HT.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:39 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tri5cui7 View Post
I'm rocking a q6600 right now, I think the chip still has a lot of life in it and once it begins to show it's age I'll throw a linux on it and it'll be like a new computer.

linux? i thought no one uses that anymore?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Signal2Noise View Post
My Q6600 has been the system of awesomeness for quite some time. But I am in the process of swapping out for Core i5 (until Core i7/i9? get cheaper) due to it showing it's age in newer gaming titles. Besides, the new ASUS boards are things of beauty with all their silver and blue color schemes.

I will be utilizing my Q6600 in a secondary build mainly for email, iTunes, and CAD/3D work where HT is still required.

lol newer gaming titles??? than how am i maxing out graphics on dragon age or nfs shift with an overclocked e2140? and in the new vantage i get close to 7000 points on high performance and i will see even better scires with decent ram and nice sick overclocked q6600
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:43 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
linux? i thought no one uses that anymore?

My name is MarkOne ...not No one

i have quite a few linux distro
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 06:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
Far as I can tell you should have gone with 1156. Even the cheaper i3s can beat a Q6600, and that's without taking into consideration that LGA775 is a dying platform. As far as I'm concerned it's one of the best C2Q chips, but it's still a C2Q chip.

i would disagree, the I3's have half the cache as the q6600 check some 3dmark 06 scores and compare or vantage scores. The i3's are mearly a transition for those who spent all on the 1156 socket motherboard and cannot afford an I7 yet but are planning an upgrade.(at least in my opinion). i agree with the statement saying that you must have a reason to need the I5 or I7 and something more than Gaming becuase the Q6600 is more than capable for todays games so far. We have already surpassed xbox 360 graphics which were jaw dropping to me when i first got it, and thats was on my E2140 overclocked and an 8800gt (COD4 and higher res, but it still looked better than the 360 version)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 06:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
linux? i thought no one uses that anymore?
i dunno i heard something new from linux, perhaps a dedicated gaming OS anyone know? That would be sweet becuase we can Dual boot it with windows 7 and games would run a hell of alot better.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default re

That's far enough to run game, even a core 2 duo is enough...

Paying for i7 for gaming is extreme (not stupid)
^^
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 09:49 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
i would disagree, the I3's have half the cache as the q6600 check some 3dmark 06 scores and compare or vantage scores. The i3's are mearly a transition for those who spent all on the 1156 socket motherboard and cannot afford an I7 yet but are planning an upgrade.(at least in my opinion). i agree with the statement saying that you must have a reason to need the I5 or I7 and something more than Gaming becuase the Q6600 is more than capable for todays games so far. We have already surpassed xbox 360 graphics which were jaw dropping to me when i first got it, and thats was on my E2140 overclocked and an 8800gt (COD4 and higher res, but it still looked better than the 360 version)
The i3 is on a newer 32nm process, whereby more stuff gets done per cycle of a clock or whatever that means.

Also the Q6600 overclocked is great for games, if the going gets tough just drop in a new video card.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2010, 03:11 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
i would disagree, the I3's have half the cache as the q6600 check some 3dmark 06 scores and compare or vantage scores. The i3's are mearly a transition for those who spent all on the 1156 socket motherboard and cannot afford an I7 yet but are planning an upgrade.(at least in my opinion). i agree with the statement saying that you must have a reason to need the I5 or I7 and something more than Gaming becuase the Q6600 is more than capable for todays games so far.
Cache and clock speed aren't everything; architecture is far more important. Just because a processor is cheap doesn't mean it's bad.

As for checking some scores, I would recommend you do the same. I did my homework.
bit-tech.net | Review - Intel Core i5-661 & Core i3-530 CPU Review
Linked to Crysis, but i3 wins damn-near every benchmark and for $25-50 less.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Q6600 MrFoxx Buy/Sell & Trade 3 May 13, 2009 07:07 AM
[WTB] Q6600 Phobia Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 12, 2009 10:19 AM
q6600 cant go over 3.0 kyle_L Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 28, 2008 10:54 PM
[WTB] Q6600 anabioz Buy/Sell & Trade 17 December 11, 2008 05:59 PM
New G0 Q6600 coldmeat CPU's and Motherboards 124 November 5, 2007 12:36 AM