Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 06:59 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default Want to buy a Imac

Ok I want to buy a Imac, it will be use only for browsing, and get use to the OSX, ( all true i have a Imac few years ok with a Leopard ) I may install something to test Windows application on it, but just test how it work, I will still make my Windows work in my PCs.

I paste the cart view to know if I miss something, they sell 4 gb memory $ 200 more , is it necessary . I take a 21, as I have no use for a 27.... If never I like so much this Imac , I will go probably go for a Mac Pro.

  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 07:37 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

If I may suggest 2 things, being a new mac user:

1. Buy from the refurbished store. you get the warranty and the stuff isn't that old.. and you save the apple tax in most cases

2. Get a Mac mini. They're much easier to upgrade and you can use the monitor for other things.

Good luck and let us know

EDIT: as an example, here is the exact computer for much less, and yet has the SAME warranty :)

Refurbished iMac 21.5-inch 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - Apple Store (Canada)
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 07:47 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Thanks for your answer, but sorry, I don't buy use, and I want a Imac not a mini , if I upgrade it will be for a Mac Pro. My main question is more about if 4 gb is enough, and if I need something else for this 21 " Imac
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 08:00 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
Thanks for your answer, but sorry, I don't buy use, and I want a Imac not a mini , if I upgrade it will be for a Mac Pro. My main question is more about if 4 gb is enough, and if I need something else for this 21 " Imac
Its not used. Most refurbs (actually just about all of them) are systems that were configured and then the order was cancelled. As soon as they open the compenents to ship it out, it has to be considered refurb. This was a big deal at Dell when I was there, we weren't supposed to tell anyone! Also stuff that might not have passed initial QA was done again.. which means it was inspected TWICE. Chances are no one ever touched it ;).

4gb is plenty for my macbook. OSX 10.6 doesn't take up alot of ram.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 08:41 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Unless you plan to use a lot of VMs 4G is plenty. If you really are going to use it only for browsing an extra 4G would be wasted.

The memory is also user replaceable and the unit will come with two free slots. If you need more later then upgrade.

For $199 I would buy the AppleCare.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 08:43 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

My bro just bought one too. No idea what his specs are but he seems happy enough with it after using Windows since forever ago. 4GB is plenty, just like it would be on Windows. I've been using Macs in one form or another for about 10 years now. It's just another computer imo. ;)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 08:49 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Rabbit View Post
For $199 I would buy the AppleCare.
I guess with an all in one it's not a bad idea.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 11:22 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

I would get the reburb ... it would pay for the apple care if you decide to take it.

FYI ... I did order an iPod reburb once and it wasn't "new" when I got it. This was from TigerDirect however.

I have 2GB in my mini and started using iMovie ... works really well. My Mini only has a 160GB hdd so I purchased an Iomega MiniMax 1TB external hdd and import the vids directly on that from the camera.

If I got a iMac, I would consider a reburb 24" model ... this has a 16:10 screen.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 11:43 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default One word (ok, two...)

OS x86
__________________

  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2010, 11:50 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I DON'T WANT A REFURBISHED ONE , this is a business expense, so I don't care about the price. I need to spend not save

All I want to know is , if my option for the model I choose is ok or not, I have not use a Imac since 5 years, an As with all my PC, I will not sell it if I upgrade, I will buy a more powerful one , so I don't need something upgradeable.

it's not for you the Apple it's for me... the basis of sale is to give what the customer want not what the seller need

So is 4 gigs enough
Are they other software than can be useful , in the usual selection of the Apple store build..
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
price check on an imac mb325ll_a _dangtx_ Off Topic 0 November 8, 2009 10:45 AM
[FS] 24" White iMac Akai Buy/Sell & Trade 8 November 1, 2009 01:28 PM
Switching from an iMac to PC and need advice... Munroe New Builds 20 November 1, 2009 10:48 AM
Upgrade for iMac bovine.baron RAM 2 April 1, 2009 07:49 AM
iMac benchmarks request Wolfx25 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 December 31, 2008 09:58 AM