Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default connecting the Asus ENGTS250?

Just plugged in my new Asus ENGTS250 1G and used the 6 pin on my Antec 650 watt psu to power it.Is that OK or do I need to use the 6 pin with the split Molex connector that came with the card? If not what is the 6 pin with the split Molex for?
Also what is the 2 pins for on the card and the 2 pin small wire connector that came in a little bag for?Is it connected to someplace on my mother board?Instructions for this card are not very good for a newby.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:17 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

It's better to use the 6-pin straight from the PSU. The 2 X 4pin molex > 6pin PCI-E is for power supplies which do not have the 6-pin connector.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Perfect,I had that connector on my psu and connected it,thanks for the quick reply.What about the two small pins on the card,what are they for and were do I connect them?Like I said ,the manual does not even mention them.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 05:13 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

I have no idea about the 2-pin thing though. Got a picture by chance?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 05:20 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,978
Default

That smaller wire plugs into the top of the card and into (if supported by the motherboard) the motherboard's spdif out. It essentially allows you to use a dvi-hmdi adapter and plug into anything and get both the audio and video sent through to the receiving device.
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 05:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Ok ,thanks for that info.I will just leave it off for now.and wait for my i7-920 from Santa and I'am ready to go.Just have to set up my raid 0 which will be a first for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting 2 Computer over Crossover Lavitz Networking 12 November 8, 2009 05:57 PM
Fan connecting to motherboard problem chang2 New Builds 4 September 13, 2009 04:46 PM
connecting 2 networks Phobia Networking 4 March 3, 2009 09:23 PM
Connecting PC to a HDTV. werty316 Display Units 3 April 7, 2008 05:22 PM
Connecting iPod to an empty PC? HBD Troubleshooting 0 January 24, 2008 11:40 PM