Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 03:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default connecting the Asus ENGTS250?

Just plugged in my new Asus ENGTS250 1G and used the 6 pin on my Antec 650 watt psu to power it.Is that OK or do I need to use the 6 pin with the split Molex connector that came with the card? If not what is the 6 pin with the split Molex for?
Also what is the 2 pins for on the card and the 2 pin small wire connector that came in a little bag for?Is it connected to someplace on my mother board?Instructions for this card are not very good for a newby.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 03:17 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

It's better to use the 6-pin straight from the PSU. The 2 X 4pin molex > 6pin PCI-E is for power supplies which do not have the 6-pin connector.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 03:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Perfect,I had that connector on my psu and connected it,thanks for the quick reply.What about the two small pins on the card,what are they for and were do I connect them?Like I said ,the manual does not even mention them.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:13 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

I have no idea about the 2-pin thing though. Got a picture by chance?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:20 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

That smaller wire plugs into the top of the card and into (if supported by the motherboard) the motherboard's spdif out. It essentially allows you to use a dvi-hmdi adapter and plug into anything and get both the audio and video sent through to the receiving device.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 04:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Ok ,thanks for that info.I will just leave it off for now.and wait for my i7-920 from Santa and I'am ready to go.Just have to set up my raid 0 which will be a first for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting 2 Computer over Crossover Lavitz Networking 12 November 8, 2009 04:57 PM
Fan connecting to motherboard problem chang2 New Builds 4 September 13, 2009 04:46 PM
connecting 2 networks Phobia Networking 4 March 3, 2009 08:23 PM
Connecting PC to a HDTV. werty316 Display Units 3 April 7, 2008 05:22 PM
Connecting iPod to an empty PC? HBD Troubleshooting 0 January 24, 2008 10:40 PM