Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 09:30 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 5105' N 11405' W
Posts: 435

My System Specs

Default Saving the OS and Installed Apps

Current rig in sig will be getting an overhaul come christmas time. A Core i5 750, ASUS P7P55D EVO mobo, and 4 sticks of 2GB G. Skill DDR3 ram are in the works. Hard drives, vidcard and everything else will remain the same.

I am debating whether to do a clean install, which I normally do, or attempt to ninja-swap the hardware out in order to keep the o/s and apps/games intact which I've never done before. I had just installed Win7 64-bit a couple of months ago and have everything the way I like. I've perused the forums and www on mobo swapping w/o re-installing Windows but either the info is dated or just not detailed enough.

Thoughts & advice appreciated.
__________________
System Spec Peripherals: Corsair H70 cpu cooler (w/ 2 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm fans) | Zalman MFC3 fan controller | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium kb | Steelseries Sensei mouse | Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speakers | SteelSeries SX mouse surface
For the real serious stuff: 2.53GHz Mac Mini | 4GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 320GB HDD | Samsung P2250 (x2) | Apple Magic Mouse | Apple Magic Trackpad | Apple Wireless KB | Drobo FS 6.5TB
Laptops: Dell XPS M1530 | Asus G74SX-DH71
Surface Pro 128GB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 09:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
Default

I like the clean install option. Drivers are new this way. But if you get knowledge on how to hotswap that'd be the way to get since you have it setup the way you want. I've never hot swapped but sounds a little tricky.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 09:38 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Windows 7 will survive the part swapping like that. Don't worry with that, you will have to update driver on the first boot to make everything work like a charm but nothing more to do. You can also delete driver before changing the component that would be nice. This was not possible with XP but vista make it possible and 7 just keep it.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 09:39 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,559

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Signal2Noise View Post
Current rig in sig will be getting an overhaul come christmas time. A Core i5 750, ASUS P7P55D EVO mobo, and 4 sticks of 2GB G. Skill DDR3 ram are in the works. Hard drives, vidcard and everything else will remain the same.

I am debating whether to do a clean install, which I normally do, or attempt to ninja-swap the hardware out in order to keep the o/s and apps/games intact which I've never done before. I had just installed Win7 64-bit a couple of months ago and have everything the way I like. I've perused the forums and www on mobo swapping w/o re-installing Windows but either the info is dated or just not detailed enough.

Thoughts & advice appreciated.
It'll work. You'll just have alot of fluff left over. Make sure you put the latest intel INF's on your PC before the swap. A fresh reload is still your best solution. And if you start running into issues, you'll likely have to reload it anyways.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 10:28 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

I would recommend going with the fresh install since there is less likely-hood of things going wrong (ie windows snagging the wrong drivers for something new, or driver conflict from old system and new system)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 11:17 PM
kingnubian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 305
Default

+1 for a fresh install.
__________________
GOD Is Good
________________________________________

Intel i7-2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Asus Sabertooth Z77
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z (1866MhZ CAS9)
NZXT Kraken X60 CPU Cooler
2x Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD (RAID 0)
Seagate 7200.12 500gig HD
Galaxy GTX660Ti 3GB
LG DVDR
NZXT Phantom 630 Case
Antec TruPower New 750W Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 02:15 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 5105' N 11405' W
Posts: 435

My System Specs

Default

tks, everyone. Methinks I'll stick to the tried & true way with a fresh install.

Cheers!
__________________
System Spec Peripherals: Corsair H70 cpu cooler (w/ 2 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm fans) | Zalman MFC3 fan controller | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium kb | Steelseries Sensei mouse | Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speakers | SteelSeries SX mouse surface
For the real serious stuff: 2.53GHz Mac Mini | 4GB DDR3 1066 RAM | 320GB HDD | Samsung P2250 (x2) | Apple Magic Mouse | Apple Magic Trackpad | Apple Wireless KB | Drobo FS 6.5TB
Laptops: Dell XPS M1530 | Asus G74SX-DH71
Surface Pro 128GB
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2009, 04:21 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
.....but nothing more to do........
may be a little, very little call to Microsoft for the activation, they like when we give news


Quote:
Originally Posted by Signal2Noise View Post
tks, everyone. Methinks I'll stick to the tried & true way with a fresh install.
Cheers!
i's always the best, and you will at same time make a good cleaning and defragmentation
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Favourite iPhone/iPod Apps icepizza iPhone & iPods 45 February 3, 2011 12:42 AM
Great Extremely Usefull Apps Realityshift O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 20, 2009 01:50 AM
What apps do you run on your G15? bojangles O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 December 25, 2008 08:27 PM
Upgrading to 8 gb ram and want most windows apps using it Shadowmeph RAM 9 December 1, 2008 04:34 PM
Ubuntu apps miggs78 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 August 24, 2008 04:18 AM