Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 15, 2009, 10:36 AM
Rookie

Default First rig, any help appreciated :)

So, this is my first time building a computer and I'm looking for some input from the wise minds here at HWC (flattery, gotta love it ). It'll mostly be used for gaming and simple multi-media (basic video editing, nothing too fancy). I'm also on a bit of a budget and I'd rather try and stick in the $700-800 range.

A part on my list is already locked in as I managed to get a pretty decent deal on it (I'll ** it), but any an all help would be appreciated!

CPU
Phenom II X3 720 $130

Motherboard
ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO $100

RAM
G.Skil 4GB $100

Graphics
*EVGA GTX 260 core 216 $150* (got it a while ago, had a friend verify that it works)

Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black 640 GB $75

PSU
Corsair TX650W $90 (special on right now...)

Case
Lancool PC-K62 $130

Total: $775

Any suggestions would be most appreciated and I'm willing to cut a few corners(I have a feeling I don't quiet need that big a PSU, but its good for future headroom). Although its an awesome case, I may trade it down for something a little cheaper, and suggestions there would be appreciated as well.

Live long and prosper ;)
Old December 15, 2009, 12:32 PM
MVP

Overall that looks like a pretty solid rig. There are, however, several suggestions I would make.

First, Don't go for a 785G motherboard. Go for the M4A79XTD if you can. It's a better chipset. If lack of onboard graphics (as a backup or for a secondary monitor) concerns you, get a 790GX board.

There are a couple other cases in the price range that you might want to look at. The K62 is good, but so are a lot of other cases. Some worthy of note include: Storm Scout, Lexa S, HAF 922, Tempest EVO. If you can't tell I love CM and NZXT.