Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 11:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default Is it possible?

I need a mobo, i5 processor, power supply over 700w and ram combo between 500 - 900$ off the tops of your heads is it possible? Suggestions would be welcome!

I was thinking maybe :


Intel core i5 750 : Buy the Intel Core i5 750 Processor at TigerDirect.ca


Asus p7p55d motherboard : Asus P7P55D Motherboard - Intel P55, Socket LGA1156, CrossFireX Ready, 2133MHz DDR3 Support at TigerDirect.com


CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 :
Newegg.ca - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1600C8D - Desktop Memory



and i couldn't find anything decent for a power supply,my total is 650$ roughly at this point please edit, or completely change my list, thanks i appreciate it...

Last edited by fearm3now; December 9, 2009 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 11:49 AM
Fox's Avatar
Fox Fox is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fearm3now View Post
I need a mobo, i5 processor, power supply over 700w and ram combo between 500 - 900$ off the tops of your heads is it possible? Suggestions would be welcome!

I was thinking maybe :


Intel core i5 750 : Buy the Intel Core i5 750 Processor at TigerDirect.ca


Asus p7p55d motherboard : Asus P7P55D Motherboard - Intel P55, Socket LGA1156, CrossFireX Ready, 2133MHz DDR3 Support at TigerDirect.com


CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 :
Newegg.ca - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1600C8D - Desktop Memory



and i couldn't find anything decent for a power supply,my total is 650$ roughly at this point please edit, or completely change my list, thanks i appreciate it...
The Corsair Dominators are 3x 2GB sticks, you'll want to go with 2x2GB sticks for a i5 750 as it uses dual channel memory not triple channel like the i7 920 which the above memory is designed for. Additionally I wouldn't advise spending that much for ram unless your running high end stuff.

The P7P55D is a decent motherboard so it'd be a good alternative if you looking to save a little more.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 12:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox View Post
The Corsair Dominators are 3x 2GB sticks, you'll want to go with 2x2GB sticks for a i5 750 as it uses dual channel memory not triple channel like the i7 920 which the above memory is designed for. Additionally I wouldn't advise spending that much for ram unless your running high end stuff.

The P7P55D is a decent motherboard so it'd be a good alternative if you looking to save a little more.
Actually it would be a computer that play high end games, empire total war, crysis warlord, modern warfare 2 etc etc..., i have a little more of a budget then 600 so..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 12:29 PM
Fox's Avatar
Fox Fox is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fearm3now View Post
Actually it would be a computer that play high end games, empire total war, crysis warlord, modern warfare 2 etc etc..., i have a little more of a budget then 600 so..
I ment high-end hardware, for gaming, ram is gonna be the last thing that you really need to put big money into. I'd take the $170 you'd save and with the rest of your budget upgrade your video card. You'll actually be able to see the performance different.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 12:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Ah alright thanks i think ultimately i will take your advice.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 01:42 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mtl
Posts: 106
Default


+1 on this build

but what videocard are you using? are you planning to throw another in the future? cos gaming performance is mainly based on gfx card..... there are limits on how much cpu can help you.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 01:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

i think i wil use my gtx 260 core 216 video card, is that sufficiant or should i get a new one? or is the motherboard sli capable?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 04:27 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

The motherboard is SLI-capable, and it's sufficient for now, but going SLI with 260s isn't a good idea with new Nvidia cards on the horizon and new ATI cards already here. I'd keep it to save money now, but don't invest more into it at this point. Until we find out how well Fermi performs, SLI-compatibility shouldn't be a primary concern.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes