Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2009, 10:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default My first build O.o

1. What YOUR PC will be used for.
Gameing

2. What YOUR budget is.
£650

3. What country
UK

4. IF YOU have a brand preference.
AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
None

6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads.
yes...

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
Default

8. WHEN do you plan to build it?
For Xmas

Scythe Shuriken BIG Quiet Multi-Format CPU Cooler

OCZ 600W StealthXStream PSU, PowerWhisper, Active PFC

Asrock M3A790GXH/128M AM3,DDR3,7.1Snd,hCfire,ATX

250Gb Maxtor DiamondMax21 SATAI/II 8Mb Cache Hard Drive

OCZ Reaper 2Gb DDR3 1333MHz (2x1Gb) Dual Channel Kit

Asus 1024Mb ATi Radeon HD 5770 PCI-Express VGA Card

NZXT m59 Classic Series ATX Gaming Case

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition AM3 Processor
Total=£639.29 from Eclipse Computers


This is the build i want and i am ready to hit the buy button..and get stuck in with my first build
but i am not sure if its 100% compatible and if a 600watt PSU is good enough?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2009, 02:53 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Everything is compatible and would theoretically work. I do have several cautions, however. First, you're using a PII 965 but only 2GB of RAM, an average motherboard and a 250GB hard drive. Why? If you're mostly gaming then you should be investing in a better video card and more RAM, since the CPU is usually second-fiddle to the GPU when it comes to FPS.

I would drop to at least a 955 just to free up some of the budget, even down to a 720 if need be.

Where do you plan to buy your parts from? I'll see if I can put together a setup within your budget.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2009, 02:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
Everything is compatible and would theoretically work. I do have several cautions, however. First, you're using a PII 965 but only 2GB of RAM, an average motherboard and a 250GB hard drive. Why? If you're mostly gaming then you should be investing in a better video card and more RAM, since the CPU is usually second-fiddle to the GPU when it comes to FPS.

I would drop to at least a 955 just to free up some of the budget, even down to a 720 if need be.

Where do you plan to buy your parts from? I'll see if I can put together a setup within your budget.
yep thats just what i was looking for thank you!

this is just a starter build i will be adding more RAM and a better GPU i just cant afford to spend anymore than 650 at the moment so a medicore GPU seemed to be the right way to go.

im buying from this site >>> Eclipse Computers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2009, 08:22 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Well, based on that site's prices and your budget, this is what I've come up with. Just my suggestions based on my experience, if there are problems don't flame me.



Total price is ~645.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 06:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

OK that looks great thanks
but i have one question the (Corsair Twin3X 4Gb DDR3 1600 (2x2Gb) CAS9 DHX Kit) the Motherboard says 1666OC i have no idea about overclocking and thatís the reason why i was going to go for the 1333 ram in the first place.
do you suggest i look into OCing or just buy 4gb of 1333?

or do i have the completely wrong idea of OC?
(still very much new to this building stuff)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 06:10 AM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

As far as I can tell, the 1666 on the motherboard means that the board natively supports memory speeds up to 1666 (though by overclocking you can get memory to run faster). 1600 should run fine, and if it doesn't the RAM should get to 1666 easily enough. Small voltage increase and maybe loosening the timings should get you there easily enough.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 06:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

alright thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 02:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 04:18 PM