Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 10:57 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If i had extra money I would spend it on the motherboard... give him a taste and he will be back for more. L4D is like drugs... he will want more power later.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 05:45 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

I haven't gone through with the build yet. It's gonna be a PITA to get moar moneys from him. I think the case is actually mATX, I did say it was small but I'll have to go take a look at it again. The motherboard probably won't fit AFAIK.

@Hades: How would the motherboard affect performance?
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 06:52 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

If affect stability.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 07:02 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Doubt it would affect stability. Think about my POS matx g31 board I'm using at the moment and it's been doing 3.4Ghz on my e6750 all its life. Never had an issue. Since either the foxconn or gigabyte boards are matx, using the old case should be fine provided screw holes match.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 03:20 PM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Please, don't make me use this case guys! It's mATX, which means the mobo will fit, but it's so small and cramped! Little crappy beige box thing has such tight space and the PSU is like right above the CPU, and the PSU he's been using is no-name brand too and he's had that comp since the stone ages!

Wait...maybe if I grab another case from the streets by my place...people are dumping old comps all the time, I could probably find one that is nice and big and I won't have to like kill myself putting it together. I'll paint it black and he'll be happy, hopefully.
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2009, 04:49 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I'll sell you my case: CS 51...

What components will be going into the case?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a computer naked? Shade340 Off Topic 56 June 22, 2009 11:16 PM
Building my first computer - Help and suggestions Waldie New Builds 94 April 27, 2009 01:30 PM
Building computer for brother! Hermesˇ˘ New Builds 60 December 11, 2008 02:22 PM
Building my first computer, need some opinions... Tsylord New Builds 10 September 21, 2008 07:45 PM
First attempt at building a computer! fawconpunch New Builds 6 June 28, 2008 07:42 PM