Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 01:05 AM
backpack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: B.C.
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default Tech Question About RAM Support

Hey I was wondering if someone could clear this up for me.
I've been getting a component list together for a new build and I always like to make sure everything should work great together.

I was checking to see if the
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL Ripjaws PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Core I5 1.5V Memory Kit
was on the list of supported RAM on gigabytes website. always good to make sure. but for every gigabyte board i checked. it listed
G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-2GBHZ PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit
as supported but not the ripjaws DDR3 1600.

Would this just be because of the huge variety of RAM out there and should i figure hey they support g.skill why wouldn't they support g.skill ripjaws. or are ripjaws for some reason no good on gigabyte boards.

be appreciated if you had something backing up your answer.
thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 01:12 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

I never consult QVL lists. I just buy Corsair, Gskill, Mushkin, OCZ, or Kingston.

Never any problems.

However, I've used the Ripjaws on Gigabyte's 790 UD4P board a few times now, no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 01:36 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

You'll never see every single possible memory option on a motherboard's QVL - not practical, and really not worth their time.

Typically, what motherboard vendors do is verify a number of well-known, well-regarded brands in the process of their testing. This way, they know that there are lots of good choices out there, and they get a mild halo effect from their product being associated with the well-regarded product. Nobody cares whether Joe's el cheapo memory sticks work in your new $500+ EVGA Classified, but knowing that Corsair's 2000MHz+ Dominator GT sticks work... that matters to some people. And conversely, some of the premium price you pay for first-tier brands pays for the testing that the memory company did before shipping their product out for sale.

In your case, you're arguably taking your chances, even if the odds of problems are pretty darn small. There are a number of different companies making the chips that go into memory sticks, and there's no way of telling what's in each stick, even if they have the same official speeds. Some chips do occasionally have problems, although they tend to show up early on when they hit the market, and more often with early motherboard bios'. If it's a concern, your best bet is to try to search online for builds using the same hardware, and verify that it worked for those people. Beyond that, get them local, and verify that they can be returned if there's a problem immediately after installation.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 10:09 PM
backpack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: B.C.
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

Alright, thanks for the tips.
I researched some builds using the same hardware and all have had success other than damaged hardware or something unforeseen.
So I think I'm going to give it a go.
Thanks for the replies.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 10:37 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,036

My System Specs

Default

It definately won't damage hardware, but it could possibly not work.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2009, 12:31 PM
backpack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: B.C.
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

Well I still have a couple weeks before I actually buy the components so we shall see what happens with prices and such.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob RAM support question clone63 New Builds 8 April 17, 2009 07:37 AM
Here is Gigabyte's tech support Eldonko CPU's and Motherboards 34 December 5, 2008 04:01 PM
question about ram Defiant RAM 7 December 1, 2008 08:34 AM
Question about initial 1333 FSB support and inital Windows install with evga 680i Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 23, 2007 11:11 PM