Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2009, 01:22 AM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Slap a Coolermaster Hyper 212 on top of the Quad...

DDR2 over DDR3? DDR2 all the way. And invest in the CPU as much as possible, since this component has the largest impact on speed.

No need to create another thread. Members will reply if they wish to.
DDR2 all the way? I'd say go as future-proof as is available.

Also, I'd say a solid motherboard is better than an outstanding CPU; it may have less impact on speed but it's the heart of the system. A crap motherboard is much harder to upgrade than a CPU.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2009, 07:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,943

My System Specs

Default

Yes, DDR2 all the way. OP cannot go for DDR3 with his budget.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2009, 11:16 AM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 706

My System Specs

Default

But buying new .. DDR3 and DDR2 prices arepretty much the same ... if not DDR2 being more expensive nowadays .
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2009, 11:21 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,138

My System Specs

Default

Well assuming he can find the extra $100 for DDR3, I'd say go with that. Since the OP wants 4GB anyways, DDR2 is $100 for a 4GB set. And you can get DDR3 4GB set for $100. So I don't see the point in going with DDR2. Motherboard cost is only like $10 more maybe? Again, not a big difference. I guess with DDR2, he could just get another 2GB set, but that's still like $60? Then it's impossible to add anymore RAM in the future if need be since all the slots will be full.

And I think a 785G motherboard's graphics would be better than a X300. I don't see the point in keeping the old card which isn't even supported by ATI anymore.

Then just get whatever Athlon II model you can afford.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 12:21 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

I'm in ON to the guy who asked. Any reason why?

It's some good points why to go DDR3. Damn, memory doesn't seem to have gone down at all lately for both types.

Which mobo then? So complicated!! :-(

I'm liking the energy efficient processors like the 235e and 240e. Any comments on them? They're a bit more expensive than the comparable Athlon II 235/240 at the standard 65w but saving 20w at only a bit extra $$ seems like a decent purchase advantage. Then you have the Radeon HD 4200 integrated cards with the option to add a discrete card whenever you want.

The thing is, this might be overkill for surfing, video, music etc. but I looked at real cheap builds like an Intel-based system so G41 mobo, E5200 cpu etc. but when you add it to gether, you still need the DDR2 RAM for about $100 and the other components being mobo plus cpu comes to $100 or more. You save a bit but can't upgrade as easily and the performance is not as good.

Stay with the AM3? :)

I guess I'll have to look a bit more closely at the DDR3/AM3 options available and their prices.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 09:44 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,138

My System Specs

Default

I'd say stick with AM3. Leaves your doors open to future upgrades, like a quad-core, 8GB of RAM, video card, etc. Then at least you don't have to trash basically everything when you want to get some more performance.

And if it's really just web surfing and menial tasks you're doing, look at the ION + Atom 330 combos by Zotac. Nice compact boards with everything on-board, even PSU if you want, and then you'd just need to add some RAM and be good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2010, 04:57 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Talking M4A785-M +9850

I'd go with the package deal ...I had the same problem of old and new components to build a Mandriva box and i'm very happy with my choice. Remember linux does not like overclocked systems nearly as much as Windows does so go with stability over speed btw go with mandriva powerpack it runs circles around Ubuntu.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2010, 03:54 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Don't go with the ION boards. They look attractive at first, but then you think about the price; for the same price as the boards that are actually worth while you can get an Athlon II and a 785G board. Guess which will perform better.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2010, 04:11 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
Don't go with the ION boards. They look attractive at first, but then you think about the price; for the same price as the boards that are actually worth while you can get an Athlon II and a 785G board. Guess which will perform better.
I agree and disagree with you, it depends on the application.

IF he is going to be using it as a regular pc, running vmware, web browser and light gaming i would STAY AWAY from the ION boards as you will not be getting the power you need.

If he is going to be using it mainly as a web browsing, htpc, and little to no gaming then i would recommend the ION boards for the fact they are small and very low power consumption. You can also overclock them to about 2.0Ghz, with a front side bus of 667Mhz, ram at 800Mhz. Also i've found this thing will actually play some games at decent settings. I mean i've played C&C3 on it at 1920x1080, mind you i cranked all the visual settings down it still was able to run it without a hitch.

Its all about practicality.
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] 780i, 2x2gb ddr2 1066, q9550 cheap! cheap! cheap! kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 16 November 24, 2009 08:05 AM
Cheap Gamer Build 666$ Simon493 New Builds 17 August 7, 2009 03:17 PM
Cheap build - need help Sameer New Builds 0 January 26, 2009 12:07 PM
WTB: Stuff (I need to build a cheap, cheap computer.) S_G Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 28, 2008 04:13 PM
help me build cheap and sturdy HTPC! Silvgearx New Builds 2 September 16, 2008 07:24 PM