Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 12:26 PM
Luckk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 81
Default Gaming Rig!

1000$ Limit. Gaming Rig. AMD and ATI Fanboy.

Asus Crosshair Formula III- Newegg.com - ASUS Crosshair III Formula AM3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

AMD X4 Phenom 955 BE Edition- Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Antec P193- Newegg.com - Antec P193 Gunmetal Gray Aluminum / Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

Coolermaster Hyper 212+- Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7 compatible RR-B10-212P-GP 120mm "heatpipe direct contact" Long life sleeve CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

G.Skill Trident 3x2G- Newegg.com - G.SKILL Trident 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000) Desktop Memory Model F3-15000CL9T-6GBTD - Desktop Memory

Right now I have a 650W OCZ Stealthx Power Supply and an ATI Radeon HD 4870 graphics card. Suggestions on a hard drive are encouraged as well! Using a new disk writer as well so it doesn't matter.
__________________
Newbie! Over 9000. I'll burn your house down. Oh Hell Nah Hol' My Earrang. No, you! (WoW player, looking to play some Crysis, etc... once a new, better computer is built)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 12:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I would switch the RAM for some Dual channel instead of triple one since AMD doesn't support triple channel. Newegg.com - G.SKILL Trident 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-4GBTD - Desktop Memory

As for the HDD, going for some WD Caviar Black would seem like a good choice: Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drives -Bare Drive

Other than that, I haven't heard too much good about the StealthXtreme series.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 01:40 PM
Luckk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 81
Default

So does dual channel mean I have to get 2 G.Skill 2x2GB?
__________________
Newbie! Over 9000. I'll burn your house down. Oh Hell Nah Hol' My Earrang. No, you! (WoW player, looking to play some Crysis, etc... once a new, better computer is built)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 01:57 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Yup for best performance.
Also your mobo is overkill.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 03:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default re

+1 for the caviar black

get performance/warranty/price ratio

^^

I would go for the 965 125w version too, reputed for higher overclocking capacity!
;)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 04:54 PM
Luckk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 81
Default

Kk so WD it is! And why the 965 is it really that much better for the price increase?
__________________
Newbie! Over 9000. I'll burn your house down. Oh Hell Nah Hol' My Earrang. No, you! (WoW player, looking to play some Crysis, etc... once a new, better computer is built)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2009, 09:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 7
Default

The 965 comes stock 3.4g and if you look for one of the new ones they're rates at 125w just like the 955 so it's almost like getting it slightly pre overclocked.

Quote:
notty22
Without a doubt make sure you get one of these, and its definitely worth the 25 bucks over 955. These are probably the highest quality chips in each wafer. These will give potentially the highest clock speed. Intel did, is doing the same thing with Q9550, and Q9550-s They get over a hundred bucks more.
__________________
We Canadians live in a blind spot about our identity. We have very strong feelings about who we aren't but only weak ones about who we are. We're passionate about what we don't want to become but oddly passive about what we should be. - John Cruickshank
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2009, 04:07 AM
Luckk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 81
Default

Kk thanks!
__________________
Newbie! Over 9000. I'll burn your house down. Oh Hell Nah Hol' My Earrang. No, you! (WoW player, looking to play some Crysis, etc... once a new, better computer is built)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 07:32 AM
Luckk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayen View Post
Yup for best performance.
Also your mobo is overkill.

Yeah I figured but I want it to last a long time. It also seems relatively friendly for new comers to overclocking with all the fun extras.
__________________
Newbie! Over 9000. I'll burn your house down. Oh Hell Nah Hol' My Earrang. No, you! (WoW player, looking to play some Crysis, etc... once a new, better computer is built)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 10:19 AM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Lol, well overclocking on most boards on the AM3 platform is actually pretty good from what i've looked up .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Rig bangegat New Builds 24 May 21, 2009 08:12 PM
Gaming Rig renoracer Buy/Sell & Trade 5 September 21, 2008 05:14 AM
New Gaming Rig kING4000 New Builds 16 September 2, 2008 07:15 PM
Gaming Rig Herrmoo New Builds 5 August 2, 2008 10:09 AM
New Gaming Rig Jon_di2 New Builds 20 July 17, 2008 09:07 PM