Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 16, 2009, 09:53 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default $625 Budget Rig For Graphic Design & Flash Animation

Hello everyone.
I've been lurking this site for a few months now. Nice reviews and well put together!

I'm a graphic designer and animator. Do a decent amount of product photography as well. Also do some gaming, mostly CS:S but I like to try out new games. Currently have a Celeron 2.8GHz, 1GB RAM, Sapphire Radeon 9600 Atlantis running windows xp.

Uses:
Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Flash, Bridge, Camera Raw, video encoding once in a while, and of course some gaming.

Requirements:
$625 Budget.
Using DirectCanada.com - Live in Canada.
Hardware virtualization is a must - I use some old software that will require it in windows 7.
Upgrade path without replacing a majority of the system, so no LGA775 please.

Unneeded Components:
Case.
Monitor.
Speakers.

Considered Components: essentially the Affordable All Rounder bit-tech.net | Feature - What Hardware Should I Buy? - Nov 2009
CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 250
MOBO - MSI 770-C45 ATX AM3
GPU - XFX Radeon HD 4850 625MHZ 512MB 1.99GHZ
RAM - G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL Ripjaws PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
HDD - Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB SATA2 3.5IN
ODD - Lg GH22NS50 Black 22X Sata Dvd Writer
PSU - OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W ATX
Keyboard - Logitech Classic Keyboard 200 USB
Mouse - Logitech G500 > has to be a quality FPS gaming mouse, would love to have some input on this one!

Intentions: