Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 01:00 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default Dust friendly computer?

Next year I'm moving to a new house, garage is nearly twice as big, so it's a clean slate to make my workshop just the way I like it. Anyway I want to put a computer out there. Primary concern is I do wood working out there and the machine will quick fill up with sawdust. I certainly don't need a lot of processing power for what I need to do. It'll be used for playing some working tunes, displaying my CAD drawings and very minor CAD work like a quick change or checking dimensions etc. saving me about 6 miles of total walking back and forth to my main machine in the basement, and a little bit of internet use.

I'll probably pick everything up used that I need, I'm sure any C2D or even an old athlon XP would probably be good enough. I've got a couple things like an old 17" LCD P.O.S. monitor. Is there and type of hardware or build method that would lend it self better than standard stuff. Should I just make a basic tower, seal up the gaps, use that fluffy filter stuff over the intake holes and call it a day?

To me that last solution probably seems the simplest but I thought I'd throw this out there incase somebody had some good ideas.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 01:58 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Something like an Atom that requires next to no cooling might be an idea, with a small fanless PSU. If it's not sucking in air, it shouldn't suck in dust.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 02:08 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

if you seal everything else off, the front port of some of the basic antec cases have filters. so you would have the intake there and have air going out the back. and I would suggest the motherboard that was used in that weird cube build, it has good memory capabilities, built in GPU and really simple cooling.

EDIT : I hold by the case idea, but I just looked at the numbers on the CPU and that would probably get bogged down really quickly by CAD. so ya, keep with the C2D idea. someone else will have to make a suggestion for the PSU.
another Idea that you could use is to drill a hole into another room where there will be less dust and place the computer there and run the cables to the peripherals in your workshop.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.

Last edited by bissa; November 13, 2009 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 02:43 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

I was wondering this possible solution to avoid dust getting into a computer in general is if one used an air purifier that was stationed right beside or ontop of the computer (or the opposite side of the room whichever works better). My thoughts are that the air purifier is suppose to take out a lot of those air contaminants and dust is suppose to be one of them, i dont know if this would work or if its just a pipe dream...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 03:30 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

saw dust and the like would probably be too much for a normal air purifier.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 03:34 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

It may be but would that help combat dust against a normal computer, i am not one who enjoys doing the ol dust clean removal (even though i do it) and would like an alternative (sorry for hijack)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 04:11 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

The Atom is a good idea, you can use the case as heat sink. they do a lot of them in case that look like a care amplifier you don't need HD and DVD too..

mini-itx.com - store - Mini-ITX vehicle cases and power

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 04:36 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Arrow don't worry too much

Sawdust gets into everything.

Get a large heat sink for the CPU and try to find one with bigger spaces between the fins. I would put the hard drive in a bag or a sealed box to keep dust out of it.

Since it is competing with power tools I guess noise is not really a big concern. I would find a case that is mostly closed and put several fast fans blowing into the case to provide positive pressure and try to keep the fluff out. Cover the fans with some light cloth as a filter and just run the shop vac over it now and then.

If you are using used gear I would not worry too much about it. Especially if you cut down on the small fans and thin heatsink fins. Anything solid state is pretty durable. If you have all kinds of money then there are some bullet proof options in the industrial arena but it would not be worth it to me.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 05:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Use silk stockings to cover any fan holes and put the HDD into one. I found that the stocking make the best filters; don't worry about saw dust - the particles are too large to pass through the stockings.

Use low speed fans too to help prevent dust movement.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 05:05 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

the mini-itx ( nano or pico ) case I show in my first post is seal,
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My PS3 just bit the dust! cb2222 Gaming 20 September 8, 2009 06:52 PM
Where Can I Buy Dust Filters For Case Fans...? mlauzon Air Cooling 11 January 19, 2009 10:49 AM
Just a quick note to anyone with an antec 900 and dust issues donimo Cases 0 June 13, 2008 11:47 AM
The Dust Box JayDee Cases 12 August 2, 2007 02:46 PM
how to get rid of dust? magictorch Water Cooling 12 July 2, 2007 07:59 PM