Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2009, 09:10 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default Confused what to do with my computer right now.

Super super duper duper poor.

No CPU, power supply & mobo are suspected.
I plugged in the power supply and it worked fine with 2 other boards (an older P4 board?, and an AM2+ ECS Geforce6100PM-V2.0 that both posted normally, but those were quick tests, don't know if i can hold up) .

Anyways EP45-DS3L, i would test it with another power supply, but i would need say power supply in question, AND a CPU filler.

Right now strapped for cash, but would like to fold / game still ( just HoN / COD4 / CODMW2 when it's out/any and all MMO's i try out) .
So i was wondering if the other two tested positive working, i would sell them off.
Use that ECS AM2+ board which currently has a sempron le1200 along with the 9800GTX+, and i pick up a decent power supply (even if the silverstone is good, i'm selling that sucker fan loud), and go at it for awhile ?

Please don't laugh. I'm actually broke rofl.
Also i have 2gb pc6400 of Patriot ram at 2.2v wth do i do with this .

I have no clue what i'm doing. Note: i'm broke.
Can spend $40 max on CPU if i stay AMD.
And max $70 for new mobo and CPU if i go intel route.
Ram is there so not an issue.
same with video card and case and HDD's.
Just need a power supply.
What's a good option around the 60-80 range.
Considering i get enough money later on and around spring/summer i go upgrade to w.e AMD's best offering is then .

Last edited by Kayen; November 3, 2009 at 10:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 03:25 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

What is the problem ? I don't understand
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 06:40 AM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Which option i should forgo .
Use current AMD board,
Or grab an intel CPU test out current mobo if it works great, if not i'll pick up a g31 board.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 08:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 468
Default

I would sway towards the intel route if that board(better overclocker from what I remember) would take a q9550 down the road. If u'r st60f is a 600w then u'r good to go.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 08:21 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mtl
Posts: 106
Default

What is the problem of your computer previously? and original spec?

And also.... I would honestly try sticking everything on the AMD board and try running it, and attempt to drop some games on it(see below)

Quote:
Can spend $40 max on CPU if i stay AMD.
And max $70 for new mobo and CPU if i go intel route.
not exactly sure 40 for AMD while you have mobo and 70 if you go intel.. 40 dollar will only net you a LE-1200(I recall it's single core?) which you already have have.. and btw it's under the minimum requirement for HoN... and I am pretty confident there are MMO's that require higher in processing power. Heroes of Newerth System Requirements

there is almost no solution for 70 dollar intel cpu + mobo route.

Quote:
Just need a power supply.
What's a good option around the 60-80 range.
your 9800 will love you if you pick up a corsair 550, but you might want to try something slightly lower and enchance your budget on the cpu.

Since you are broke.. why don't you keep your PSU? I fail to see selling a psu and then buying a new product will help your situation, wouldn't a few bucks of sound dampening work be a better temp solution?

Last edited by belinik; November 4, 2009 at 08:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 08:41 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

if it was on water he can OC the semtron at 3,9 easy.... but what about this EP45-DS3L , is it working, or that's the question you don't know... may be you can go to a local computer store, explain them than you want to buy a cpu but you not sure the board work... if the mtb do not boot they will tell you it's dead, just say you can afford to buy one, they will get back their CPU , but if it's working make sure to buy it. and make sure they will not charge for test.. just be honest with them.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 09:53 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

get your self a decent 775 cpu cpu and cooler I was think e3200 celeron ( overclockes like crazy ) and a xigmatek you should be able to get most of it all for a nice price
NCIX.com - Buy Xigmatek HDT-S1283 Direct Touch 3 Heatpipe Heatsink AM2 LGA775 S754 S939 S940 W 120MM PWM Fan - HDT-S1283 In Canada.
NCIX.com - Buy Intel Celeron E3200 Dual Core Processor LGA775 2.4GHZ 1MB L2 Cache 65W Retail Box - BX80571E3200 In Canada.
JMO
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 10:52 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

Sell everything. note**you're broke. Keep saving , save during summer, come back next christmas with an actual build thread =P
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 03:24 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

@belink : Well i want to try and find an X2 ... a dual, i know it's plausible because i see them all the time on RFD .. just noone replies to me .
Also it's the fan that's fairly loud, and with my new smaller case, it's sightly larger, so i'd like to pick up something smaller. That or someone want to stick in the replacement fan for me?
@gingerbee: I already have a TRUE .
@markone: Good idea, i may try that .
@upcoast: not sure if the board works or not however.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2009, 03:36 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

well then all you need is the chip you. if the board works
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm soooooooooo confused Elderado Video Cards 16 August 8, 2009 06:59 PM
A little confused in differences on cards Shadowmeph Video Cards 9 May 4, 2009 10:46 PM
Confused by temperature reports. Maplicito Troubleshooting 13 January 23, 2009 12:40 AM
Confused... encorp CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 28, 2008 11:15 AM
Confused 800mhz vs 1066mhz icodeit RAM 10 January 28, 2008 11:40 AM