Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 09:37 AM
Randyman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salmon arm
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default Board Replacement?

Hey Folks, Me again.
After giving this some thought. Rather than going with a new rig right now I thought perhaps upgrading my board might be the way to go right now. As some of you know I have been having some GPU issues with my board regarding athe crossfire setup not working.
I want to use the current hardware and cpu in this new board that I will show below my current system.
Question:
Would this be a decent replacement for now?
Please give me some advice here. Good or Bad.

Here is my current system:

Antec P190 w/ 1200W Dual PSU 650 dedicated to the board and GPU, 550W to the rest of the system.
ASUS P5K Deluxe WIFI-AP ATX LGA775 P35 Main Board
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 LGA775 Kentsfield 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 8MB
4 gigs - Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400 DDR2 800 Cl 4-4-4-12 24pin Dual Channel memory
Zalman CPU Heatsink 110 fan
2 x Sapphire Radeon HD2900 Pro 600MHZ 512MB 1.6GHZ GDDR3 GPU's
2 x WD SE16 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB HDD
MIitsumi Floppy Drive
Sondingo Infero 7.1 Channel PCI Sound Card
Intel Pro/1000 Network Adapter
LG DVD CDR RW Drive
Windows XP-32 I have XP pro but removed it due to some software limitations at the time.

Here is what I thought of using.
Thanks in Advance.
Randy

ASUS P5Q Deluxe ATX LGA775 P45 DDR2 3PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN eSATA 1394 Motherboard
This product can only be exchanged or replaced with the exact same item.



Does not support Intel Xeon LGA775 processors.




Actual product may not be exactly as shown.






Last edited by Randyman; November 2, 2009 at 10:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 09:53 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Not a real big upgrade from you P5K deluxe. You would be better to upgrade CPU memory mobo and GPU that would be a real upgrade. The main difference between the 2 board ( or usable difference ) is P35 VS P45 wow what a change. Putting 150$ on a new board in your case would be a waste of money I think.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 10:29 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

he wants to get he's crossfire working right. and 8x 8x crossfire board will do fine but i would be looking for something used to keep the price down. if the only problem is the crossfire just get 1 new gpu you will see the performance over the MB upgrade. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 10:30 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

You could throw the money in that for a chance to get X-fire on the go. Or you could spend that $$$ on just getting yourself a better GPU so X-fire wouldn't be an issue. Like a 4850/4870 1GB model.

Thats what I would personally do if I was in your shoes.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 10:53 AM
Randyman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salmon arm
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Ok Thanks guys. The gpu's work fine. It is the last slot on the board that is giving me issues.
Perhaps I'll just hold off then and build something on newer technology. It's not like I need Crossfire. I just wanted to be able to use it on this board since I have two gpu's and by the looks of it the last slot is not going to let me do it so I"ll live with it.
Would the ASUS P6T be a good upgrade down the road?

Last edited by Randyman; November 2, 2009 at 11:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade to i7 yet? RONEDOGG New Builds 17 April 22, 2009 11:12 PM
Nice little rig - Upgrade from a p2 CactusJoe New Builds 3 February 2, 2009 05:16 PM
Looking for an upgrade Beermaster Video Cards 10 January 13, 2009 02:40 PM
little upgrade BT! Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 6 December 31, 2008 08:08 PM
My Upgrade! rjbarker New Builds 1 November 8, 2008 06:35 PM