Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 1, 2009, 04:14 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default First ever Gaming rig build.

Hello Everybody,
I am soon going to start building my first computer. Since this is my first build i'm going to need a bit of help if all the parts match up and will work together. My budget is quiet large since i am a year or two before going off to the money deprived years of university. Also I looked at all my products off of tigerdirect.ca. If you guys could recommend any other sites or walk in stores ( i live in the Brampton Ontario Area.) Other then that on to the parts:

Case: Cooler Master Haf 922
Mobo: EVGA X58 SLI Motherboard
Ram: Patriot Viper Tri Channel 6GB PC10666 DDR3 Memory
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 ( Will probably OC)
Hard drive: 500gb Western Digital Caviar Black Hard Drive
Psu: XFX 850watt Black Edition Modular PSU
GPU: Probably a 5870( i will wait until Nvidia comes out with their dx11 cards)
DVD Burner: Lite-On IHAS124-04 Internal DVD Writer - DVD+R 24X, DVD-R 24X, DVD+RW 8X, DVD-RW 6X, DVD+R DL 8X, SATA (OEM)

I think that's all i need, I have the 850w psu because in the furture i am thinking of crossfiring or sli-ing. Any help is appreciated.
Old November 1, 2009, 04:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Your best deal for a site is NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection. which has great customer service and offers Price matching. You build looks fine, it would be a good idea to tell us some more precise numbers for the budget. You could probably have only a 750W PSU and still have plenty of power for a SLI or xfire combo. I will also suggest getting an aftermarket fan such as the Coolermaster Hyper 212+. Getting some additionnal fans can't hurt, but there's no rush for that. Other than that its mostly personnal preference stuff such as case and brands.