Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 10:16 PM
lastsplash's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Nelson, BC
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default First build in a long time

Just ordered some parts and waiting (impatiently) for them to arrive! Here's what i've got coming for my gaming (Fallout, Civ4, Sims3, CoH, CoD) and photoshop rig.

Intel i5 750
Gigabyte P55 UD5
GSkill Ripjaws 4 x 2gb DDR3 1333 8-8-8-24
Gigabyte HD5750 x 2 (should have got a single 5850)
WD Caviar Green 1TB x 2 (undecided on RAID)
Corsair Pro HX750 PSU
Zerotherm Core92 CPU heatsink (I've seen reviews by people using this on 1156 but manufacturers website doesnt mention 1156, supplier says it will fit)
NZXT Panzerbox Case
Win 7 Home

It's a little late to ask since it's on its way but will it all work? I've only ever built one PC and it was a i387 so... yea. Newbie here! Any advice (good or bad) would be appreciated.

I do plan on O/Cing eventually.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2009, 08:39 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Couldn't tell you about the core92. ANyway, I don't see any problems, although I understand green HD's don't raid too well. For the eek of performance I would just use one for installs, one for data. Or get a low capacity black addition, or at least a 7200. Just my 2c.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2009, 08:44 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

They'll work just fine, though I would've made the following changes:

4GB RAM. No need for 8GB, unless you run stuff that's RAM intensive such as lots of video encoding or AutoCAD or something. However, judging from the GPUs I assume you're gaming
Single ATI 5850 or 5870
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+

P.S. Where are you buying from? If they haven't shipped yet, you could try refunding your purchase and get other parts.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2009, 08:12 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

as clone said...green's are bad with raid since they park their heads after period of inactivity
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Haven't looked around in a long time Farmrush Display Units 4 September 22, 2009 07:21 AM
Shipping Time: how long??? jcmaz Off Topic 10 July 30, 2009 02:03 PM
A long term new build andynerd New Builds 11 May 27, 2009 01:20 PM
New build in a long time!!! Delavan New Builds 7 April 10, 2009 07:09 AM
New Build, psu doesnt provide long enough cables! element291 Troubleshooting 3 January 13, 2009 03:13 PM