Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 27, 2009, 01:02 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Default Solid little gaming rig......need some suggestions

Ok well I have been with out gaming rig for a while now and I don't think I can take it anymore, especially with Dragon Age around the corner. All my money is going into my WRX which I'm getting ready for some auto-x next summer and that is quite an expensive hobby and since I'm a noob its taking a lot of time and money! So I want something relatively inexpensive for my rig.

I'm looking for something different then when I had my classified. I really didn't enjoy it and lost interest quick. What I want is a practical rig that is just as fast as the high priced rigs out there. For actual gaming I think it is very doable with the right components. Right now I'm not going sli but might want to in the future depending how much the new nvidia cards are.

Left over from my old rig is 1 evga gtx 275, 2 640gb WD Blacks, Lite-ON bluray drive, Creative xtreme gamer, and a backup set of g.skill ddr3 1600mhz I have lying around.

Now as far as GPUs go I'm not buying anything new until nvidias new cards come out when ever that is. Haven't been much of a fan of ati for the last 3 years.

So for the components I need I have set a budget of $1000. So I'm currently considering an matx build but also open to other ideas so I have a Lancool case in there too. These prices are the cheapest I could find on the net as I'm buying from NCIX. I was considering buying used but people want way too much lately it seems. Some used prices on here were more then retail. New it is for me.

CPU
i5 750 $218

Mobo
Evga P55 matx $180
or
Evga P55 $220

PSU
Corsair Pro HX650 $135
or
Corsair Pro HX750 $150 (probably the smarter choice but harder to squeeze into the matx case)

Case
Lian-Li PC-V351 matx $120
or
Lancool PC-K62 $110