Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 11:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default Windows 7 raid setup

I am planning on on installing Windows 7 and am considering raid 0.I have a Seagate 7200.11 1tb and a Seagate 7200.12 1tb.Are these drives ok or do they need to be identical?I believe th 12 has less platters.Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 11:36 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

It should not matter and I think the .12 is just firmware but don't quote me on that
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 11:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

They don't have to be identical, but you'll be combining the weaknesses of the two drives (IIRC the 7200.11 has lower read rates than the 7200.12, while the 7200.12 has worse access times than the 7200.11, at least at 500GB). You are correct about the platter count; the 7200.12 has 2x500GB platters while the 7200.11 has 4x250GB platters:
Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB: The Perfect Balance? | silentpcreview.com
Seagate's Barracuda 7200.12 hard drive - The Tech Report - Page 1

Unless you are short-stroking the drives (e.g. using ~10-20% of thier capacity), I wouldn't recommend RAID0, but it is possible. If I were you I'd use them both as single drives, with OS + programs on one drive, and user data ( or user data + page file ) on the other. This may result in longer loading times for some programs compared to the RAID, but you won't have to worry about dumb RAID controller problems, and using the two drives will still reduce the number of stalls as user data and programs are accessed at the same time.

A little off topic, but if your 7200.11 is empty, you may consider verifying its firmware, to make sure it is not the infamous SD15 self-bricking firmware.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7: black screen before setup is complete sevensc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 9, 2009 03:02 AM
How to setup RAID 0 with an Asus CG5290-BP007 and 2 Velociraptors rayo Troubleshooting 27 September 8, 2009 12:39 AM
Moving windows 7 onto a RAID 1 array Lpfan4ever O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 30, 2009 06:58 AM
Trouble installing Windows 7 with New Raid 0 Array shayan288 Troubleshooting 38 August 29, 2009 05:11 PM
RAID Striping - Windows install??? mattydies Troubleshooting 3 October 17, 2007 07:53 PM