Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 11, 2009, 01:29 AM
Rookie

Default Thermal Paste question

Hey there, I'm new to building a computer.

I have a question regarding the use of thermal paste.

I'm planning to use the thermal paste that came with my cpu between the mobo sockets and the cpu, and then again on top of the cpu cover to the cooler. was wondering if applied am I stuck with this thermal paste forever or should i get my hands on higher quality paste for later over clocking and apply that now? Or is it recommended that I use the paste that came with the cpu, especially for application between the cpu and mobo?

Later I will replace the cooler once I know more about cooling.

Thanks for reading

Caesar
Old October 11, 2009, 01:46 AM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by CV2010 View Post
Hey there, I'm new to building a computer.

I have a question regarding the use of thermal paste.

I'm planning to use the thermal paste that came with my cpu between the mobo sockets and the cpu, and then again on top of the cpu cover to the cooler. was wondering if applied am I stuck with this thermal paste forever or should i get my hands on higher quality paste for later over clocking and apply that now? Or is it recommended that I use the paste that came with the cpu, especially for application between the cpu and mobo?

Later I will replace the cooler once I know more about cooling.

Thanks for reading

Caesar
Ok...
1. You only apply thermal-paste between the CPU's IHS(heat-spreader) and the base of the heatsink.
2. CPU heatsinks come with preapplied thermal interface material. You don't have to "apply" anything. You just have to make sure that there aren't any films(plastic sheet, etc. that can be applied to prevent a mess) on the base of the heatsink.
3. If you aren't overclocking and/or running the computer in a fairly warm environment(ie.>26C), then the stock material is fine.