Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 08:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Posts: 53
Default Sub-300$ mATX build

Hey guys,
my sister is in need of a cheap build that can handle games like Sims 3 and Zoo Tycoon 2.
I've picked out some parts, do you guys have any suggestions on them?
CPU: Sempron 140 2.7GHZ (link)
Mobo: Gigabyte AM3 Mobo (link)
Case+PSU: Apex TX-373 mATX+400w PSU (link) (I don't normally buy PSU+Case combo's, but it's a must here since we're on a tight budget)
GPU:Powercolor Radeon 512MB (link) (Will this be enough to play the games I mentioned above?)
DVD: LG 22X DVD Writer (link)
HDD: Barracuda 250GB (link)
RAM:2GB Kingston (link)

I've heard that it is possible to unlock the Sempron's 2nd core. Would that be possible with my mobo?

Thanks
dimre
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 08:30 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

No you need teh mobos with the 710 southbridge ie
Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P ATX AM3 DDR3 AMD770 PCI-E16 4PCI-E1 2PCI SATA GBLAN Motherboard
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 08:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Posts: 53
Default

Do you have any reccomendations for DDR2 southridge 710 mobos? The one you showed me looks good but it only supports DDR3.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 11:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Posts: 53
Default

Found a SB710 DDR2 mobo with decent integrated graphics, so I'm ditching the HD3650. Link to mobo here.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 12:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 147
Default

I think it'll make it easier for everyone if you just paste the link straight into the reply box instead of using the link function since it automatically pulls the title of the page into the link.

At the moment, I have to click on every link because I don't find your specs descriptive enough.

Instead of this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimre01 View Post
CPU: Sempron 140 2.7GHZ (link)
Mobo: Gigabyte AM3 Mobo (link)
Case+PSU: Apex TX-373 mATX+400w PSU (link) (I don't normally buy PSU+Case combo's, but it's a must here since we're on a tight budget)
GPU:Powercolor Radeon 512MB (link) (Will this be enough to play the games I mentioned above?)
DVD: LG 22X DVD Writer (link)
HDD: Barracuda 250GB (link)
RAM:2GB Kingston (link)
You could have this:

It's actually easier on your part too. (less typing.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 12:51 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

For around $30 more you could get a dual-core...

NCIX.com - Buy AMD Athlon II X2 240 Dual Core Processor Socket AM3 2.8GHZ 2MB Cache 65W Retail Box - ADX240OCGQBOX In Canada.

Could probably pricematch that for a little less too.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 09:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Default

A 500gb hard drive is about 6 dollars more... And that psu/case looks alright but are you sure it wouldn't be worth it to find some really cheap Matx case and a low end antec, corsair or ocz power supply?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mATX vs ATX SquattingDawg CPU's and Motherboards 15 October 7, 2009 02:00 AM
300$ build for a friend CactusJoe New Builds 10 November 15, 2008 12:42 PM
MATX Cases darksideleader Cases 10 August 10, 2008 12:42 PM
mATX overclocking -=CrAnSwIcK=- CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 8, 2008 09:23 AM
Which mATX mobo? BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 2 July 25, 2008 09:21 AM