Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default Is this a good build to increase game performance? Work your magic!

I'm trying to build a gaming system that is far superior to mine. I can currently get between 60 and 80 FPS in Modern Warfare on Max settings (Full HD). It has spikes and drops depending on the action, but that's a given. I want to be able to play Modern Warfare 2 when it comes out at Full HD, max settings, and never drop below 125 FPS (futureproof for other games, as well as gurantee a seamless gameplay experience).

Here's my current system:

Motherboard: NFORCE 680i LT SLI
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
RAM: 4GB OCZ DDR2 667 (PC2-5300)
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX 768 MBytes

I've been browsing around for new parts for a rig, but can't settle on one. Here's what I've decided so far:

Motherboard: EVGA NFORCE 790i Ultra SLI
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ OC 3.00GHz
RAM: 4GB Corsair XMS3 Dual Channel DDR3 RAM
Graphics Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 896MB GDDR3
Additional: Some sort of processor cooling for the OC Q6600

My question is: Is it worth getting this build, or should I just get newer stuff (tri channel RAM, core i7/i5, GTX 295, etc)? To pick up all the stuff for the new rig would be about $450 (before any tax/shipping/sales). What's your suggestion, I'm open to all of them.

Keep in mind that the rig is mainly used for gaming. I do a lot of work on it, but none of it as intensive as the gaming I often do. Feel free to disregard my current choices and come up with something completely new. I am not loaded though, so the cheaper the better.

Thanks for your time and help,

-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Save your money and buy a new GPU.

The system you have aside from *cough*680i*cough* is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Save your money and buy a new GPU.

The system you have aside from *cough*680i*cough* is fine.
I'm planning on buying a new GPU (the GTX 260). If I want to replace the 680i, my RAM is going to be the asshole of my system, and I'll need to upgrade that as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:13 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Either jump all the way to Core i5/i7 or stay with your current mobo. What's so bad about the 680i LT?
PS: Get a new GPU.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:19 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

A new GPU would be the way to go. That Q6600 has plenty of life left in it. Are you considering cranking up its speed? That would help out a bit if you're inclined.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DokkRokken View Post
A new GPU would be the way to go. That Q6600 has plenty of life left in it. Are you considering cranking up its speed? That would help out a bit if you're inclined.
If you look at the "New Rig" section, I'm planning on OC'ing it to 3.0GHz, and throwing on a third party heatsink/fan to keep it cool. Would that get me a noticeable speed boost?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:48 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

just get a new gpu and a good air cooler and overclock your cpu
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 08:03 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Go grab a Hyper 212 / OCZ Vendetta 2 / Xigmatek HDT-S1283 Direct Touch , and then a GPU of your choice, and that'll be plenty.

Possibly a new mobo if you want ... P45's are good & cheap solutions.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 12:09 PM
rai_polo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 142
Default

Yeah, listen to Kayen..

Grab a used P45/X48 mobo.

Squeeze your Q6600 for more juice. (I have mine @ 3825MHZ on H20)

Grab a couple HD 4890's for crossfire or a 295 if you can afford it.

You can find a watercooled 4870 x2 for about $350 here or on RFD.

Your Ram should be fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gaming build , intel , nvidia , performance , rig

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming with Light editing work. Phenom II build? manbearpig New Builds 3 January 22, 2009 06:47 AM
Seeking advice on multiple soundcard build / Will it work? Ironmonk Troubleshooting 3 December 12, 2008 12:46 PM
Getting a game to work with Vista? TwystedMonkey Off Topic 21 June 1, 2008 12:28 PM
What Power Supply will work for my set-up to be? also is it any good? Crazy Timmy Power Supplies 8 January 30, 2008 10:55 AM
Let's play a game about my new build, this or that? donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 14, 2007 10:45 PM