Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 03:08 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Lazy is fine... anything helps .
Haven't seen screenshots, but the motherboard is guaranteed by the seller to unlock the chip.
I did a little research and that seems to be what others are saying.
He's got 4gb DDR3 too... all for $270 shipped!
Sounds like a good deal.
The Athlon II x4 620 + mobo + 4gb ddr2 is $30 more, but comes with warranties and is definately a quad-core.

How much better would that system be if it truly does unlock?
Will the 4th core work properly?
Would it be better even if it didn't unlock?
Not too likely it will be overclocked much if at all...
Won't be doing much gaming...


*edit*
Got to see a screen of the chip in another mobo he's selling.
Says the Gigabyte will unlock though.

Cpu-z validation shows this:
CPU Arch : 1 CPU - 4 Cores - 4 Threads
CPU PSN : AMD Phenom II X4 20 Processor
CPU EXT : MMX(+) 3DNow!(+) SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSE4A x86-64
CPUID : F.4.2 / Extended : 10.4
CPU Cache : L1 : 4 x 64 / 4 x 64 KB - L2 : 4 x 512 KB
CPU Cache : L3 : 6144 KB
Core : Deneb (45 nm) / Stepping : RB-C2

Freq : 3612.23 MHz (200.68 * 18)

Last edited by somecanadianguy; September 29, 2009 at 03:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 03:32 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
P.S. Make sure that the GA-MA770T-UD3P has A.C.C. so you can unlock it into a quad core. That option/feature is a must.
I think I read that the board just needs a BIOS update to use that feature.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2009, 04:38 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I just went with the Athlon II x4 620 + Gigabyte AM3 mobo.
Got them and a Ultra Kaze 120mm fan to put in my rig for $214.11 shipped.
My gf was kinda uneasy about the whole 'unlocking' idea, and after all, it'll be her computer.
Thanks for the help

Now go ahead and tell me what a bad choice I made and that I could have done better...


Anyone with parts for sale to help me with this build check out my WTB thread...
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...tml#post263234

Last edited by somecanadianguy; September 30, 2009 at 03:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 03:38 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

So far, I think the build is looking decent for the money.

Athlon II x4 620
Gigabyte MA785GMT-UD2H
2x2gb Crucial ddr3

With taxes and shipping I have spent around $270 so far (just working out details on the RAM sale).
A little more than I wanted to spend, but decided to stretech it and get the cheap quad instead of a dual.

How's this looking for a budget build?
Am I on the right track here?
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 05:18 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 706

My System Specs

Default

You're on track. Quad core w/ 4gb DDR3 ram at that price .. it's pretty good way to start off a budget system (;
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 05:44 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Definately different from my i7 build.
I think this is almost more fun really... well, almost...
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2009, 09:42 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

CPU, motherboard, and RAM are here.
Going to order a couple more things tonight or tomorrow.

Anyone used either of these cases?

NCIX.com - Buy ASUS TA-D54 ATX Mid Tower Case BLACK/SILVER Front Audio USB No PSU - TA-D54 In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy ASUS TA-B32 Black Yellow Mid ATX Tower No PS with USB Audio - TA-B32 In Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2009, 04:20 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

If I get this mATX case...

NCIX.com - Buy Compucase 6K28 mATX Case Black 2X5.25 2X3.5 1X.3.5INT W/ Front USB & Audio No PS - 6K28B In Canada.

Can I fit a PSU 150 x 160 x 86mm (W x L x H)?
Anyone know??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to build low budget Security Camera System, any help? The MAX New Builds 5 July 7, 2009 09:43 AM
Intel E5200 low Budget Gaming Build DarXViruS New Builds 14 June 27, 2009 12:00 PM
low budget psu CTA Power Supplies 8 March 28, 2009 03:30 AM
low budget case CTA Cases 18 March 22, 2009 12:00 AM
Scythe Shuriken Low Low-Profile CPU Cooler Hardware Canucks Air Cooling 0 April 30, 2008 09:24 AM