Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 11:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default Will this memory work with my board - Confusing OCZ website

When I use OCZ's memory selection tool for a Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P, I get the following results:

512MB, 1066MHz, DDR3-1066 PC3-8500, 240p DIMM, 1.5v
512MB, 1333MHz, DDR3-1333 PC3-10600, 240p DIMM, 1.5v
512MB, 800MHz, DDR3-800 PC3-6400, 240p DIMM, 1.5v
1GB, 1066MHz, DDR3-1066 PC3-8500, 240p DIMM, 1.5v OCZ310661GB
1GB, 1333MHz, DDR3-1333 PC3-10600, 240p DIMM, 1.5v OCZ313331GB
1GB, 800MHz, DDR3-800 PC3-6400, 240p DIMM, 1.5v
2GB, 1066MHz, DDR3-1066 PC3-8500, 240p DIMM, 1.5v OCZ310662GB
2GB, 1333MHz, DDR3-1333 PC3-10600, 240p DIMM, 1.5v OCZ313332GB
2GB, 800MHz, DDR3-800 PC3-6400, 240p DIMM, 1.5v
4GB, 1066MHz, DDR3-1066 PC3-8500, 240p DIMM, 1.5v
4GB, 1333MHz, DDR3-1333 PC3-10600, 240p DIMM, 1.5v
4GB, 800MHz, DDR3-800 PC3-6400, 240p DIMM, 1.5v

Does this mean that this module (OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 / 1600 MHz /Gold XTC / Triple Channel Kit) will not work with this board? Is it because it's 1.65V and the board says 1.5V?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 11:13 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

I would think that it should work ( might be a little undervolted) but you might have to go into the bios and up the voltage but don't quote me on this
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 11:17 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

can work and ca not work. If you board can at boot up auto set the memory it will boot like a charm. Ityour board fail to do it then the memory will fail to boot. That's the big issue with OCZ memory. unfortunatly for you, the only way to know is to try.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 11:22 AM
steers's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Waterloo, ON
Posts: 297

My System Specs

Default

This discrepancy arises because the kit you linked to is rated to run at 1600MHz, which is not officially supported by default. When you plug those DIMMs into your board and power it on, your BIOS will probably recognize it as 1066MHz or 1333MHz, and you will see that it will be running at 1.5V. By increasing the VDIMM to 1.65V, you should be able to push your RAM speeds all the way up to 1600MHz.

In summary, 1600MHz must be attained through manual overclocking, unless the kit supports XMP (in which case you can auto-overclock it to the right speeds/voltages).
__________________
Balthasar - Loop: EK Multi 150 > MCP655 w/X-Top2 > Feser X-Changer 360 w/3x Panaflo 68cfm (push) > Heatkiller 3.0 > EK-FC275 > EK-FB Classified
Caspar - 2x Xeon E5504 | SuperMicro X8DAi | 12GB DDR3 | Radeon HD4850 | CM ATCS840
Melchior - Rev. A MacBook Pro | 2.0GHz Core Duo | 2GB DDR2 | Radeon X1600

---
Bob - Core i3 530 | Gigabyte H55N-USB3 | 4GB DDR3 | Corsair H50 w/ TFC Triebwerk | Silverstone SG06
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 08:04 PM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default

make a post in the ocz forums. They have a great support forums with a lot of posts confirming compatible ram for almost every board.
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 08:11 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

just buy some g.skill NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F3-12800CL9T-3GBNQ 3GB DDR3 3X1GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24 Triple Channel Memory Kit - F3-12800CL9T-3GBNQ In Canada.
NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24 Triple Channel Memory Kit - F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ In Canada.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] OCZ XTC Memory cooler =) Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 6 April 21, 2009 03:36 PM
OCZ Reaper HPC memory? MpG RAM 6 January 26, 2009 09:34 PM
HWC website stresses my work system Cptn Vortex Suggestions & Feedback 14 December 2, 2008 06:53 PM
OCZ Memory owners: Try your memory at lower Volts sswilson RAM 0 October 24, 2008 07:36 AM
Confusing temperature readings magictorch CPU's and Motherboards 7 November 30, 2007 04:47 PM