Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Default Hi I need some help

I am looking to build a computer.. I think my harddrive in my HP slimline has died so I just said lets build a comp..

But I want it to be good and arond 500-550 dollars..

I want a decent video card and a good processor..


If anyone can help me pick out parts or list them for me I would appreciate it thanks


NCIX would be great thanks..

Last edited by Moezy; September 9, 2009 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Are you a fellow Canadian? If so you're better off money wise getting your parts from NCIX. You can price match also.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Alright I heard of NCIX , is it canadian?

and if so can you help me out from there? :D
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:31 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

well allot of decisions depend on what your computer will "mostly"used for.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Well my HP had 4 gb ram, 500gb harddrive, and onboard graphics.. dual core processor

and i used it for school like word processing, watched HD movies , and now if i build a computeri want to play some games because on my HP I couldnt because the graphics were terrible.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:37 PM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default

what ram did u have in your old pc? speed and qty? What size monitor do you use and what games do you wish to play. A basic starting point would look something like this. This shop has about 15 -20 locations across ontario so you may be able to avoid shipping costs depending on where you live.

AMD Athlon II X2 240 (65W) Dual-Core Socket AM3, 2.8GHz $73.99

Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-US2H Socket AM2+ AMD 780G $67.99 after mir

Antec VSK-2000 ATX Mid Tower $44.99

OCZ StealthXStream 500W Power Supply $34.99 after mir

Seagate Barracuda (ST3500418AS) 7200.12 SATA 3.0Gb/s 500GB 16MB Cache (OEM) $54.99

G.SKILL PQ Series DDR2 800MHz (PC2-6400) 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel Kit (F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ) $69.99

Samsung SH-S222A/BEBE IDE Black DVD-Writer 22xDVD+R/-R 8xDVD+RW/6xDVD-RW 12xDVD-RAM 16xDVD+R/8xDVD-R DL 48xCD-R 32xCD-RW W/Software OEM $30.99

BFG GeForce GTS 250 (BFGEGTS250512OCE) Nvidia GeForce GTS 250 Chipset (750Mhz) Shader Clock (1836Mhz) 512MB GDDR3 (2240Mhz) Dual Dual-Link DVI PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card $119.99 after mir

Total: $497.92 after all mir.
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64

Last edited by hossdaddy; September 9, 2009 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Well I just searched it up and it says 240 pin, DDR2 SDRAM , Speed Support : PC2-6400 MB/sec

2x2gb =4gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:42 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well the plus side is you may be able to reuse some of the old parts which will open up more of your budget for other things. such as video cards
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Default

ye maybe i can use my dvd drive to? :D

i shouldnt of bought this slimline anyways before.. its only a year old but im thinking another harddrive will fail if i buy one and its just better to build.. which i should of done

But can anyone put out a good build for me :D
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 12:56 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

what is your exact spects of your computer? if it isn't to bad you might not even have to build a new on you might be able to just install a decent video card and a newer cpu. At worst change Motherboard cpu and use the same case ( thats what I have done on a couple of cheap builds)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes