Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2009, 10:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 61
Default Sound Decent

Just built this last week
Q8200 @3.325GHZ 7X475 @1.296V
2X2GB Corsair 1066mhz ddr 2 @1198mhz
asus maximus 2 formula
2x4890 1gbs saphire connected via HDMI
2x500gb wd 32mb buffer raid 0
supreme x-fi sound card (if i can make it work)
weapons of choice
logitech chat lx3000 headset
logitech g11 keyboard
logitech g7 lazer mouse
panasonic 56inch lcd
3D06 SCORES 17322
SUPER PI SCORE 16.28 1M CALCULATION
SOUND DECENT
__________________
Q8200 @ 3.0GHZ
Asus Maximus 2 Formula
2x ATI 4890 1gb
Gskill 2x2gb PC 8500@ 1200MHz
Western Digital SATA 320GBx2 RAID0
X-Fi Supreme
Sony Bluray dvd-rw
PC P&C Silencer 750w
antec Scout
Panasonic 56 inch lcd
Vista Ultimate SP2 x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2009, 07:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895

My System Specs

Default

I personally wouldn't have wasted money on a Maximus II Formula, and well I wouldn't build a Core 2 Quad, especially a low end one, at this point in time. AMD Phenom IIs are faster and around the same, or less money. And well there's always Core i7 as well which just dominates all.

Also seeing as your TV can only be a max of 1920x1080, I would of just used a single HD4890.

It's an alright PC though, just not really what I'd buy.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2009, 08:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 61
Default

jdrom17 bet u dont get 17 k with once card like i did
and super pi me i dare u
__________________
Q8200 @ 3.0GHZ
Asus Maximus 2 Formula
2x ATI 4890 1gb
Gskill 2x2gb PC 8500@ 1200MHz
Western Digital SATA 320GBx2 RAID0
X-Fi Supreme
Sony Bluray dvd-rw
PC P&C Silencer 750w
antec Scout
Panasonic 56 inch lcd
Vista Ultimate SP2 x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2009, 08:25 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I personally wouldn't have wasted money on a Maximus II Formula, and well I wouldn't build a Core 2 Quad, especially a low end one, at this point in time. AMD Phenom IIs are faster and around the same, or less money. And well there's always Core i7 as well which just dominates all.

Also seeing as your TV can only be a max of 1920x1080, I would of just used a single HD4890.

It's an alright PC though, just not really what I'd buy.
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by himynameis View Post
jdrom17 bet u dont get 17 k with once card like i did
and super pi me i dare u

if your e-peen is worth this much to you, so be it.

I would drop a 4890 for a SSD though.
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2009, 09:35 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by himynameis View Post
jdrom17 bet u dont get 17 k with once card like i did
and super pi me i dare u
Well I get 18343 in 3DMark06 with my HD4890 overclocked:



And with my HD4890 at stock I get 17872:



A quick SuperPi run yields 13.796s without me doing anything to try and improve it. I even left all my programs open. So really, you're bragging about scores that aren't anything amazing.

The Q8200 is a rather crippled quad-core having only 1/3 of the L2 cache my X3350 (aka a Q9450) has and I also still have a slightly faster clock too even though my X38-chipset severely limits overclocking on 45nm quads (425FSB max).

I was merely sharing my opinions on what I would have bought at this point in time. There's nothing terribly wrong with your choices, just that there's better options you could of chosen to yield better performance. You asked if your setup sounded decent, so I told you my thoughts...

Next time ask before you buy rather than getting all cocky and "daring" people when somebody tells you there were better choices.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2009, 09:47 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I would personally have taken some of the money from the second GPU, the motherboard and the second HDD and invested in a better processor and a SSD. That 3DMark06 score is pretty low for CF 4890s which leads me to believe they may be bottlenecked by your processor. And based on everything I've been reading about SSDs, they are the greatest thing since sliced bread.

I'm not quite sure what you expected with challenging jdrom17 in SPi 1M. His processor has way more cache, which alone gives him a HUGE edge, and he is overclocked to a higher speed. The only "advantage" you had was slightly faster RAM which isn't even that important for 1M.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 01:24 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by himynameis View Post
super pi me i dare u
Quite possibly one of the funniest things I've read on a forum.

Last edited by DkRk; September 6, 2009 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 01:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Nothing wrong with his maximus 2 formula. Yes it's more expensive then others but it's a very good board.

Not everybody has to go to i7 or AMD.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2009, 04:59 PM
Andy's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Taichung / Toronto
Posts: 657

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by himynameis View Post
jdrom17 bet u dont get 17 k with once card like i did
and super pi me i dare u
I nominate this for dumbest post of the year!
__________________
SAGER 5165 - Matte Screen (1920x1080) - i7-2630QM - nVidia 555M - 8Gb DDR3 - 120Gb Corsair Force GT SSD - 500Gb Momentus XT - Intel® 6300
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth it to buy a sound card or will MOBO sound be enough? Sandro_Bit CPU's and Motherboards 18 August 22, 2009 09:44 AM
Installed sound card, but no sound jcmaz Troubleshooting 5 June 22, 2009 12:39 PM
recommend me a decent printer :) Silvgearx Peripherals 24 June 10, 2009 07:40 AM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM
Pics of my first decent rig donimo Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 13 November 9, 2007 11:02 AM