Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 01:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default Fast Processor Upgrade

Hi,

I currently have a Phenom II x3 720 Black processor wich is not bad, really.

Thing is while browsing NCIX i found this NCIX.com - Buy AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core Processor AM3 3.4GHZ 8MB Cache 140W 45NM Retail Box - HDZ965FBGIBOX In Canada. AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core Processor AM3 3.4GHZ 8MB Cache 140W 45NM Retail Box.

The lowest price I have found is 267$ at Extreme PC

If you know any lower price, or a time period where I should buy, please let me know.

Otherwise, will this CPU fit on a GA-MA790X-UD4P?
Its not in the support list but maybe...?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 01:44 PM
Deviant's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UWO :D or Toronto
Posts: 355

My System Specs

Default

Yes the CPU will fit in the GA-MA790X-UD4P...I don't think it's THAT much of an upgrade going from the X3->X4 though...so unless you flip your X3, don't get the X4.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 02:17 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

It would be a noticable upgrade only if you are doing thing like 3D rendering and other this like that. Stick with your X3 unless you really want a X4 and have the money for.


Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 02:44 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Stick with the x3. Also, I've been meaning to ask a while back but martin, why do you put ask for more at the end of your posts?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 02:55 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

ahahah don't really know. I start doing it when I was working at futureshop putting Ask for more at the end of all my thread and answer so the customer would ask me back again or ask other question they add. It stick to me;) but I like to have it so it's a kind of showing that I am open to answer everything if I start adding info on a subject and a specific person want more of info releated to my answer. I think I am not really clear. You see it work you ask me for more:P sorry was to easy XD. I have been computer seller and techy for years now and it's my way to give more and more service in all the place I am acting, like in the shop a customer come to see me and I always tell if you have more question please call me instead of call my colleague.

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 03:03 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

And you also have "and much more" in your sig.... bwahaha
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 05:05 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Ahah to long to put all the rig I got in the house there is more then 12 computer working all day long on the home server so:P

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help help fast hohohee Storage 14 July 30, 2009 08:21 PM
OPENDNS * FAST * fefox Networking 5 June 19, 2009 09:09 PM
Its actually fast now Eagle Eye Off Topic 14 May 9, 2009 01:11 AM
WTB: Fast socket 754 Processor CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 11, 2008 07:40 PM
The Barcelona is fast, REALLY FAST!: AMD Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 2 April 25, 2007 09:02 AM