Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 20, 2009, 10:09 PM
Rookie

Default New build, new to forums.

Hey all! Im new to hardware Canucks and im finding this site great! And after reading other's builds im going to post my own. I have build 2 computers before this, but this will be my first OC computer. Any tips are welcome.

First off im using a HAF 932 as the base. I think im going to take it apart and colour the inside black and red. I've been reading moding sites about painting cases so i can't wait to start it :D

Ill put an x after items i've already picked up.

HAF 932 x
EVGA Classified x
i7 920 DO
Kingston HyperX 1600 8-8-8-24 x
CoolerMaster 212 CPU heat sink x
Ocz tech Vertex 60GB SSD ( OS HD ) x
WD Cavier Black 1TB HD
Sapphire HD 4890 Atomic
Seasonic M12D 850W x
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan controller
And Arctic Cooling MX-2 Thermal Paste x

I have two questions .... atlease for now :).

1) I want to use 2 fans on the CM 212. But i really have no idea what fans to use. Im looking for about a mid noice level fan. One i can turn down with the fan controller when im just surfing or idle.

2) I saw some builds where people that used a CM 212 in a HAF 932 had to remove the side 230mm fan and replace it with 3 120's.
a) Is this true?
b)What would be good fans to used if i do have to remove it?

Thanks for any help and comments!

Edit: Got the EVGA Classified

Last edited by MacPhal; August 23, 2009 at 03:16 PM.
Old August 21, 2009, 01:24 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Just curious, isn't that motherboard SLI ? You are running ATi ? Kind of an unneeded expense... no ?
Old August 21, 2009, 02:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

That motherboard supports both SLI and crossfire.
Old August 21, 2009, 02:31 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

I'D save some money and get a stock 4890 from XFX so you can get the lifetime warranty and OC the card yourself.
Old August 21, 2009, 07:18 AM