Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 13, 2009, 06:23 PM
MVP
F@H

Question New Rig (Requesting Some Advice)

(First Post)
:help:

Hello everyone, recently found this site from reviews whilst looking for parts to build my new rig (and ordering my motherboard... lol)

I'm by no means completely new to building computers, I've been working on them for 10 years (with help for the first 4). I've already decided on the platform I'm running, and purchased the motherboard. Also I'm using a chassis that I've had here for about 2 years... details below.

---------------------
Motherboard:
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX (AM3 Socket, DDR3 {1600Mhz Native}, 2x PCIe16, 2x PCIe1)
---------------------
Chassis:
Thermaltake Armor VA8000BWS SuperTower (ATX clearly based on the motherboard... although holds other FF)
---------------------
CPU (Need to purchase):
AMD Phenom II X4 955 B.E. AM3 3.2GHZ
- Right now this is what I'm considering purchasing. I've had a lot of people tell me to grab the X3 purely based on the idea that the 4th core can be unlocked using the 790FX chipset. The only thing is that I'm not sure that I want to void a warranty, nor do I believe that with my luck I'll receive a stable core after the unlock... Am I being too cautious? Or should I consider the price difference for the X3 chip?
---------------------
RAM:
Mushkin HP3 996629 4GB 2X2GB PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit
- Just purchased
---------------------
Video Card (Need to purchase):
eVGA nVidia GTX 275 896MB GDDR3
- I've always been an nVidia nut. But I'm not sure whether to go with this card, or an ATI card. This is one of the big points I'm stuck on along with the RAM... I'm too indecisive.
---------------------
PSU:
Corsair TX850W 850W
- Just purchased.
---------------------
HDD (Have tons of spares...)
---------------------
Optical Drives (have spares...)

EDIT: