Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 4, 2009, 12:31 PM
Rookie

Smile Newbie high-end build for $800

Hello guys.

I am totally new to building computers, and all I have learned about it is from reading tutorials online. I have chosen the parts, but I thought perhaps you guys could give me some tips and let me know if the parts I chose would actually work together :P The budget is $800, including shipping. It's ok if I go over $10 or $20. I want this to be as high-end as possible with the budget I have.

I am using this computer for quite a number of different things. I am an animation student so I will be making extensive use of Autodesk Maya, which I know requires a lot of processing power, especially when rendering. I will also be using a number of the Adobe products for video editing, encoding, etc. I am also a gamer and would like to run most new games smoothly. Not at max necessarily, but certainly closer to high settings than medium.

I am purchasing all of my parts from Newegg. Already have a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and speakers. I also have Windows XP Pro which I plan to use. I went with Intel and nVidia since I have always used them so I suppose I naturally gravitated towards them.

I would like to overclock the system if possible. Especially the processor. More power is definitely better. However I am highly unfamiliar with the process. I have read some tutorials but still do not fully understand. All I do understand is that I may need additional cooling if I do overclock. I plan to purchase the parts in mid-September which is about a month away.

Here are the parts:

Processor
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Motherboard
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Memory